JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

New Radio Shack remote: 15-100
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3955

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 5:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Question on the mod. It may be too soon to tell, but with the ribbon cable running through the battery cover clip opening and "resting" in the battery cover, I presume that there is some degree of care required when removing the battery cover. Is that a potential weak point? i.e. cable stress or battery cover clip stress or something?
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18907
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's some links that show prices:
HF06U-06-ND - $2.63
609-2162-ND - $0.79
609-2180-ND - $1.15

I'm listing the price for 10 or more, but less than 100. So, you're looking at about $5 each for parts, so you could sell a kit for about $10. As for offering modified remotes for sale, the trick there would be trying to buy the remotes at wholesale which is difficult with Radio Shack, as they don't sell their stuff anywhere but in their own stores. If you had to buy the remote at $30 plus tax, then add in $5 for the parts, then add in the cost of your time to do the mod, which isn't a 1-minute mod, the final cost of the remote is going to be well over $50 and I don't see people being willing to pay that. So, it looks like the DIY kit is the way to go.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jherrick
JP1 Vendor


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 222
Location: South Berwick, ME

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Capn Trips wrote:
Question on the mod. It may be too soon to tell, but with the ribbon cable running through the battery cover clip opening and "resting" in the battery cover, I presume that there is some degree of care required when removing the battery cover. Is that a potential weak point? i.e. cable stress or battery cover clip stress or something?

Cap'n,
I don't believe so. To the typical jp1 user, I don't imagine that there would be a problem with that. When you cut the void in the battery cover for the cable, it simply provides the room for the connector. The connector is just filling that void when the cover is on, and (unless you tape it to the cover) does not "come with" the cover when it is removed.
The cable I anticipate using will be the flat flex type that is seen often in cellular phones, home A/V electronics, etc. Anyone who has upgraded their TiVo Series 2 has been warned about not dislodging the white cable. That cable is thin enough that I don't predict any problems with closure of the cover, cover clip stress, or other stresses.

ATTENTION UEIC!
Also, as a last point, there is ample room where the cover clip resides to route the cable. Incidentally, there is also room to place six pads there, and thereby make things infinitely easier for us in the jp1 group.
HEAR THAT, UEIC?? HUH? Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18907
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jherrick wrote:
Also, as a last point, there is ample room where the cover clip resides to route the cable. Incidentally, there is also room to place six pads there, and thereby make things infinitely easier for us in the jp1 group.

You just gave me an idea Jim. We could fashion our own 6-pad connector using aluminum foil and electrical tape, then put that in the clip gap!
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18907
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried making a 6-pad using tin foil and it's too fiddly, but I wonder if we could fashion something using perf board.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jherrick
JP1 Vendor


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 222
Location: South Berwick, ME

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had thought of that, perhaps using a small pcb that could be glued in there. The cost seemed prohibitive for that, at least through my pcb source. Maybe I could have another look, though. That would certainly make it easier for the masses, and perhaps cheaper, as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18907
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're getting PCBs made anyway, for your JP1/JP1.x cables, maybe you can include this little PCB on the edge of the big board somewhere?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jherrick
JP1 Vendor


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 222
Location: South Berwick, ME

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I did that, then I could sell the small pcb with the cable attached, and people would just buy the assembly and a pogo adapter. But the trick is that people will still have to solder in the cable and glue the board down.
Before I got too investe in that, I would need to get an idea of the interest in the community. I guess sort of a poor man's market analysis. Surprised
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18907
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just created a MAP for this remote. This is my first ever map, so I'm not promising that it's bug free, so give it a whirl...

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=4771
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3955

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool. Looks like the Audio map is not mapped to the AUD device button - it appears as a phantom on the RM Layout page.
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18907
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Capn Trips wrote:
Cool. Looks like the Audio map is not mapped to the AUD device button - it appears as a phantom on the RM Layout page.

Probably because I called it "Audio" in the RDF and "AUD" in the map, I just fixed it.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
speaker.guy
Exile Island Resident


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wish I were a talented cartoonist........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jherrick
JP1 Vendor


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 222
Location: South Berwick, ME

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob,
When I try to dowload from the remote in IR, I get "Unknown processor in rdf file."
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18907
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure you're using the latest version of IR, otherwise it won't recognize the S3F80 processor.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18907
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh yeah, the protocols list still needs attention as I haven't notated which versions are in this remote (and I don't really know how to do this).
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 3 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central