JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

How do I learn an entire device from a non-JP1 Remote?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
GEBrown

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 2:58 pm    Post subject: How do I learn an entire device from a non-JP1 Remote? Reply with quote

Hi All,

I am new to this, but I haven't seen this topic covered, so here goes.

I have an old GE TV, that while it still works great, NONE of the OFA codes will turn it on/off or even change the channels/volume. I have both a URC-7800 Cinema 7 and a RS 15-2116 remote and none of the built in codes seem to work. I have the original remote in working order, though the power key sticks a little. I would like to program the Cinema 7 for this TV.

I recently bought a Yamaha RX-V440 AV Receiver which came with a Yamaha RAV246 remote. Surprisingly enough, TV code 1041 on that remote operates my GE TV just fine (I only need power on/off, channel up/down and volume up/down).

I was able to teach the 1L key on the Cinema 7 the power on/off toggle from the original remote.

In general terms, is there a way to learn all the codes from the RAV246 into IR and then transfer them to the Cinema 7? Or, in general terms, how do I transfer the 1L learned key to the TV Power button on my Cinema 7. I say "in general terms" because if you'll give me a clue where to start to look, I'll do the research and learn it.

Thanks in advance,

Gary
gfb107
Expert

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First of all, your Cinema 7 can learn to just about any key, not just the 1L-4L buttons. The process is the same, just use the button you actually want instead of the L button.