JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Is this possible with replaytv 5000 remote?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Extenders
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mikek



Joined: 02 May 2006
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:21 pm    Post subject: Is this possible with replaytv 5000 remote? Reply with quote

Can I use the replaytv remote to work like this:

When I press the replaytv button it turns on the tv and replaytv and all the buttons control the replaytv.

When I press the TV button it turns on the tv and all the buttons are used for the TV controls.

I can then use some other button to shut everything off.

That is all I want; nothing too complicated.

I have already programmed several RCU810 remotes to do everything I want using the extender package, but I have been having a hard time programming this remote mainly because the TV button is being used as a shift button and not a power button, but I don't need a shift button for this setup.

Thanks for any help.

-mk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19610
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it's possible (even easy), but you would need to use the extender.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mikek



Joined: 02 May 2006
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been working on it and progressing slowly. It's not really easy like it was with the RCU810.

I got everything to work except I am having trouble with the power buttons.

-mk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19610
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just FYI, when you use the extender, the "Replay" button acts as the all-purpose POWER button, and the TV button acts as the "shift" button.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sixt7gt350



Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
Just FYI, when you use the extender, the "Replay" button acts as the all-purpose POWER button, and the TV button acts as the "shift" button.


I set mine up just the opposite.
Logically, it made more sense for me to press "Replay" "1" to put the remote in device mode for Replay1 and similarly for Replay2.
It didn't seem intuitive to press "TV" "2" to put the remote in Replay2 device mode.
(I guess not completely opposite, since the Replay button is still the power button, once shifted.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19610
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the REPLAY button is your SHIFT button *and* your POWER button, how do you switch from one replay mode to another?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sfhub



Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 287

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 5:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought he meant due to shift-cloaking, the Replay button could still perform the power function?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Extenders All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central