JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

MacBook Pro gets really hot running RMIR

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sti491



Joined: 04 Jan 2015
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 9:21 am    Post subject: MacBook Pro gets really hot running RMIR Reply with quote

Has anyone else running RMIR on a MacBook noticed this? Just curious.

My MacBook is about 3-4 years old. Over that time it has got warm a few times.

Just in the last month or so as I have been going through my JP1 learning curve I have noticed two things when running RMIR:

1. My MacBook gets HOT, not just warm, and...

2. it burns through a battery charge faster than normal

It doesn't seem to be hurting anything, but it's the first time I ever noticed it since I bought my MacBook.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 973

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2015 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With or without connected hardware?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
sti491



Joined: 04 Jan 2015
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2015 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wasn't sure so I did a test when I saw your reply Barf.

It takes about 5 min to get hot without anything connected to the MacBook. It's pretty cold in coastal NC right now, it's like a heating pad on high!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 973

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 4:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I take it that you just start RMIR, no hardware connected, and, without any input to the program, it consumes an unacceptable amount of power. Rite?

Use some tool (top?) to check the cpu usage while the program is idle. Install IrScrutinizer and see if it behaves the same way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
sti491



Joined: 04 Jan 2015
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2015 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes that's correct. Activity monitor shows that it uses a lot of CPU activity compared to other programs, for sure. I will look into IR Scrutinizer, Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central