JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Transfer from old remote to new

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
joshgambit



Joined: 14 Feb 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 10:23 am    Post subject: Transfer from old remote to new Reply with quote

Hi,
I'm a new user, and I have a rather silly question; I've done some searching, but I can't find the answer.

I have an older Atlas remote, and a new RCA 5 device Learning remote. What I would like to do is pull the data from the RCA and load it onto the Atlas.

Basically "clone" the remote.

Is that possible?

Thanks,
Josh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is nothing mechanical to do this, its done manually one key at a time.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
joshgambit



Joined: 14 Feb 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, let me ask this.

The RCA remote that I have (RCRP05B) is several years newer than my Atlas DVR Day-1055. My wife & kids are used to the Atlas, and we use the 2 that we have for nearly everything. The only problem is that we have purchased a new DVD player, a Western Digital TV Live setup, and a new TV. None of these things can be programmed with the codes that are on the Atlas.

The RCA remote has the codes for the TV and DVD. It can learn the buttons from the WDTV.

As I understand what you're saying, Vicky, is that I would basically have to 'teach' the RCA remote every button on my TV remote, then on my DVD remote to create an upgrade? Then I can load them onto the Atlas?

Thank you for your patience!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19070
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If there's a built in setup code that works your device, let us what the code is (plus the make and model of the device) and we can probably create an upgrade for you, to save you having to do the learning.

But, if you have a device that we haven't seen before, and there's no built in setup code for it, then yes, you would learn all of the buttons and use the learned data to build a new upgrade.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
greenough1



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 659

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, since this is the JP1 beginner sub-forum, we're assuming you have a cable and can use the jp1 tools to add upgrades for your new equipment for which the atlas remotes (my favorites) do not have built-in codes for. If you don't have a cable and the jp1 tools, then you're limited to learning the keys one by one. if you do have the cable, then using upgrades make switching to a new remote easy.
Best,
jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joshgambit



Joined: 14 Feb 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

YES!

That's exactly what I would like to do, Jeff! I do have the cable.

Okay; so...back to hitting the books and figuring this out! Thanks for the help, all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19070
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then give us a list of the devices in question, and which setup codes you are using for them, and we'll get started.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
joshgambit



Joined: 14 Feb 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hopefully this is the info you need. Please let me know if there's anything else I can provide. Thanks so much for your help!

Philips HTS3372D/F7 - 5.1-Ch. Upconvert DVD/DivX Player Home Theater System
DVD - 2056
AUD - 2311

The Philips is a DVD player and a FM Receiver; the audio works with that code.

iLo 42" LCD TV - LCT42HA36
TV - 1684

My cable box (code 1376) runs perfect with my Atlas remote.

Atlas 5-Device PVR Day 3033 JP1.3

The internal board of my Atlas shows this:

UEI Atlas Super DVR 2006
w/ Samsung 64k, URC-1055BA1
Rev:01 03.14.06

I am using a RCA remote - RCRP05B - to learn the codes for the WD TV Live. It appears that there is already an upgrade posted for that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greenough1



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 659

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the Philips HTS, did you try this upgrade:
PHILIPS HTS

For the TV, did you try this upgrade:
iLO LCD

I note there's another iLO upgrade, but this ones newer and from Rob.

Usually all you need to be is "close" to have one work. Another thing you can do that helps the community, is to create an upgrade containing all the functionality from the OEM remote for the device. Then you upload it so that the next guy who comes along with that device, can just use your upgrade.

Best,
jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central