JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Baby steps - cannot find remote
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
jacobacci

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2024 6:04 pm    Post subject: Baby steps - cannot find remote Reply with quote

Hi all
I'm very new to all things JP1, so I am looking for some help with my first steps.
I have a ONEforall URC1210 remote which has a JP1 connector
I purchased this cable: https://www.amazon.de/dp/B08JLRP6YV
When I plug the cable to a USB port on my PC (Win 11 23H2), it shows up as "silicon labs cp210x usb to uart bridge (com4)". I downloaded and installed drivers 11.3.0.176 from Silicon Laboratories Inc.
So far so good.
Next I downloaded RMIR 3.0.12 and attached four leads of the cable to the remote as described here: http://www.hifi-remote.com/wiki/index.php/JP1_Cables taking care to correctly identify pin one on the remote.
Finally I tried to download from the remote to the PC with RMIR. While RMIR is trying to download, the LED on the USB connector blinks red, so something is happening. However after a few seconds I get 'no remotes found'. I have tried with and without batteries in the remote.
Have I overlooked something here?
Thanks a lot for any help.
mathdon
Expert

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2024 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is a very interesting cable that you have. I have not come across previously a ready-built cable that has a CP2102 chip. That chip needs a 10K resistor connected between the TXD and GND lines to work with RMIR. That is easy to connect if you have it on a break-out board, as I have, but not so easy when it is in a ready-built cable. Maybe you can connect one to the leads before they enter the separate connectors?
ckeays