JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

infrared command conflict
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ckeays



Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 83
Location: Toronto, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:10 am    Post subject: infrared command conflict Reply with quote

Hi Guys,

I just bought an RTRU4328 RCA Roku TV.
43" Smart TV with Roku installed.

I have a channel master DVR Plus connected to the TV.

When I press Guide button on the DVR remote, the ROKU TV mutes the sound.

The two devices do not have the same codes but it still happens???

I used IrScrutinizer to capture the commands.

This is the Guide command from the DVR Plus remote:
(it mutes the TV sound)

Code:
protocol = NEC1-rnc, device = 1, obc = 16


and the actual mute command from the Roku TV remote:
Code:
protocol = NEC, device = 234, subdevice = 199, obc = 32 (+ one other decode)


The device codes are not the same and the commands are not the same. It's not even the same protocol!!

So how can this be happening?

Any ideas what I can do? There is no way to change the remote address for the TV or the DVR.

I don't want to return the TV if I don't have to.
I would appreciate any advice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HamburgerHelper1



Joined: 22 Feb 2014
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:40 am    Post subject: infrared command conflict Reply with quote

I am no expert but relearn your
Guide command from the DVR Plus remote
I do not think that is correct i have seen that in my own learns
and redid them several times till i got the correct command
Just a suggestion
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ckeays



Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 83
Location: Toronto, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the guide command is coming from the original remote (this is what mutes the sound on the tv)

I do have an atlas B03 remote but for the sake of troubleshooting i decided to use all of the original remotes.

I am getting no help from the tv manufacturer and it is very difficult to get someone at Channel master.

Channel master has a way to change the remote address but it does not work with the remote i received with the unit.
https://support.channelmaster.com/hc/en-us/articles/217106967-I-have-two-DVR-s-CM-7500-can-I-enter-a-code-so-that-each-remote-will-only-control-one-DVR-CM-7500-

I really don't want to have to return the TV just for this problem.

any help is greatly appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 748
Location: Des Moines, IA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could get a rf remote for the tv:

https://www.roku.com/products/accessories/roku-tv

Then tape up the front of tv so it can't accept IR commands.
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ckeays



Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 83
Location: Toronto, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks but i only want one remote (this is why i have an atlas B03 remote)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeajea



Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 211
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does the mute button on the TV remote act as guide on the DVR+ ?
If you have the CM-7500XRC2 remote it is JP 3 remote compatible with
RMIR.

My RC2 uses an upgrade 3465 loaded on the STB button (for a CM 7004 tuner)

You can download the upgrade, change the device number and upload it to another JPx remote.
I did this for my OARUSBO4G.
You should be able to upload the modified upgrade to the CM-7500 but I haven’t tried this.
However, if the TV is the problem changing the DVR+ code may not help.
_________________
Jim Anderson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19066
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ckeays wrote:
Channel master has a way to change the remote address but it does not work with the remote i received with the unit.
https://support.channelmaster.com/hc/en-us/articles/217106967-I-have-two-DVR-s-CM-7500-can-I-enter-a-code-so-that-each-remote-will-only-control-one-DVR-CM-7500-

This does offer some hope, because if I understand you correctly, your CM unit can respond to a different IR codeset, but your CM remote lacks the ability to send it. If that is the case, you should try to find whatever information you can regarding that alternative codeset (like raw IR information) because, if we understand what you find, we should be able to create a JP1 upgrade that replicates what the CM remote would have sent.

ideally, you should try to get CM to give you the IR info for both the current remote and the alternative codeset. The reason I'd like to see the current data is so I can compare it to what we know about it, as that will tell me how to read the data on the next codeset.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 748
Location: Des Moines, IA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ckeays, using atlas remote which tv code does respond to 10178 or 10463?
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4001

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually the CM-7500XRC2 mentioned above is a JP1 remote (I used to have one), so we already know at least the built in setup codes (DVR 2116, 2117 and 2118). That remote supposedly can't change addresses. But it's supposed to be able to control the DVR+ out of the box. Looks like it actually has 3 addresses built in though.

See this thread for some background:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=100100&postdays=0&postorder=asc&&start=15

We can also pull codes from SimpleSet if necessary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ckeays



Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 83
Location: Toronto, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Everyone,

I already have the info regarding this remote. I am sure there is an upgrade for it in the download section.

I spoke with Channel master today and they offered little support.

In the above link I posted earlier, you can program a different remote address (3 digit code) into the remote, then pair that remote with the DVR.

Trouble is it only works on the original remotes that were sent with the early units.

Channel Master informed me today that they are no longer available. I could try and find a used one but it's not worth the hassle.

I am not going to spend $75- $100 (by the time I get the package) for a used remote just to do this, it's not worth it.

Even if I could find a way to adjust the remote address in my programmed atlas 1056 B03 file (with the Channel Master upgrade), I still could not pair that with the DVR because two keys need to be pressed simultaneously in order for the DVR to get into pairing mode.

Even with my original Channel Master remote this does not work. (only the really early one can do it)

It must be something built in to the specific keys that are pressed simultaneously in the very early remotes.

So I appreciate all the help but I am going to return the TV. It's their loss.

Someone else will get a deal for an "open box" TV.
Hopefully it's someone that does not have a Channel Master DVR!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ckeays



Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 83
Location: Toronto, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jeajea wrote:
Does the mute button on the TV remote act as guide on the DVR+ ?


no it does not. The DVR+ just ignores anything that is not meant for it
unlike other cheaply made devices I have.
I have an older Chinese media player I have had for years that works on 38KHz IR.

When I use my 56KHz IR dish network remote, pressing the arrow up turns the media player on!! It's totally different in about 100 ways!!

The only reason why this could be happening is poorly written software in the media player. I keep the unit because it's very easy to upload files though my home network, and it has a built in 2TB sata drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ckeays



Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 83
Location: Toronto, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:

ideally, you should try to get CM to give you the IR info for both the current remote and the alternative codeset. The reason I'd like to see the current data is so I can compare it to what we know about it, as that will tell me how to read the data on the next codeset.


If I had an earlier version (the first ones sent with these DVR's) I could do it and send you the info.

However, it is unlikely that the simultaneous key method is not supported with any other remote other than the early version original remote and as I mentioned earlier, there is no way to get the DVR into pairing mode.

I could be wrong but I did try every sequence I could find on the original CM remote before CM told me that it was impossible on the newer remotes.

I specifically wanted the newer remote when I purchased two of these DVR's because there IS a JP1 connector on the newer remote.

I am almost certain the JP1 connector was NOT present in the earlier versions of these remotes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19066
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Dave, I don't see anywhere in that thread where anyone says they understand what the difference is between the different unit codes, but in this post Erds posted an RMIR file of learns which seem to show that unit code 1 uses device code 1 and unit code 2 uses device code 2, does that sound right?

Where can I find info on 2116, 2117, 2118?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HamburgerHelper1



Joined: 22 Feb 2014
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:28 am    Post subject: infrared command conflict Reply with quote

Not that this will matter now but i refer you to vickyg2003
response about remotes conflicting in this thread
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=101937&highlight=
there is a posibility to solve the problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeajea



Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 211
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The TV is responding to a protocol and device code that its
remote doesn’t send.

This implies the problem is the TV.

If the old CM remote sends a unique command when you press
“page up” and “ok” and Channel master will tell you what the
command is you should be able to program a JPx remote to
change the DVR device/subdevice.
However, changing the DVR may not fix the TVs problem.
Also, you may latter find another remote that interferes with the TV.

If RCA can’t fix the problem, I would return the TV.
_________________
Jim Anderson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central