JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

NEC1 device 178 any additional functions for Odroid C2

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gna03633



Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 11:17 am    Post subject: NEC1 device 178 any additional functions for Odroid C2 Reply with quote

One for all provided an upgrade (5334) for my URC-7980, to support an Odroid C2 remote I'm using for Kodi:

http://www.hardkernel.com/main/products/prdt_info.php?g_code=G141637537661

With the upgrade and a little learning I've got all the buttons from the orginal remote. The orginal remote is quite limited I wanted to see if the Odroid C2 box will respond to other buttons not on the orginal. Kodi has an add-on which I think could use any button.

So my question is, how do I find other functions / codes for other buttons within the NEC1 device 178 protocol?

I've looked in the file list and coudn't find anything the same. I've seen others which are similar but have no idea if they'd work. Search engine didn't find much about NEC1 device 178.

Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3270

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No idea if you have a JP1 cable or use Remote Master or not. If you do, fill in all OBCs from 0 to 255, and that will be every possible command. You'll have to modify and download a few times to try them all, since you're limited to about 80 functions on the 40-ish buttons on your remote at a given time (assuming you know how to use shifted buttons).

If you don't use Remote Master, you can test every possible code manually. Tap Setup followed quickly by each 5 digit code 00000 thru 00255. The command is sent while the final digit is pressed.

Test a known code to start to confirm you're doing it correctly.


Last edited by mdavej on Sun Apr 16, 2017 1:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 17505
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Based on previous posts, gna03633 does have a JP1 cable and uses RMIR.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gna03633



Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks mdavej, I'll give that a go.

cheers
gna
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gna03633



Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After a few uploads and a key presses I only found one button I didn't have, it wasn't exactly gold as it was already on the UEI extended functions list!

I've uploaded the UEI Official for 5334, hopefully I've done it correctly http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=14514
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddp_JP1



Joined: 25 Feb 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might be able to use a Microsoft MCE remote, which I believe already has an UEI code, by telling the box to look for those commands. Look at http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=210987&pid=2291663#pid2291663 steps 1 and 1.5. The MCE remote probably has more buttons than what you're working with. The same guide supposedly tells how to use any remote on the C1 and C2 boxes with some additional work. I also found a post from last November saying that alpha builds of Libreelec support the MCE remote out of the box. https://forum.libreelec.tv/thread-2376.html (scroll down).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3270

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IMO, this is the most complete MCE upgrade we have for your remote:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=11769

You can always add more MCE commands to it if you find them from other sources.

Here's another supposedly customized for Kodi, but I'm a little skeptical of the protocol they used. Not sure it your C1/C2 boxes would respond.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=13861
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central