JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Scientific Atlanta 3100HD Cable box
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JohnParks



Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 5:55 pm    Post subject: Scientific Atlanta 3100HD Cable box Reply with quote

I would like to be able to turn on/off Closed Caption without going through the quick settings menu. A macro would work, but its program disruptive. I use this feature when music or noise drowns out the dialogue on pbs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3009
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is the Setup Code that you're using to control the 3100HD listed here, where you might find the Advance Code for the CC function?
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
JohnParks



Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Mark. There probably is not a function code to access cc directly. To access cc you have to go to a settings menu, scroll up/down to find cc then right arrow over to set it then menu again which takes you to another menu and finally out. Like I said a macro would work, but it takes a few seconds for HDTV to resync after running it. Anyway just thought someone might have a fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19618
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But... if you tell us what setup code you are using, we can tell you if there are any known discrete codes for that function. If you haven't found a setup code, do you know what protocol & device codes it uses?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JohnParks



Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Setup code 0477 - panosonic old 27
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3009
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't see any obvious discrete code for CC in CBL/0477. Being that the list at hifi-remote is quite old, it's possible OFA has an updated list you can ask for.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3009
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's also possible, as you suspect, that there is no EFC for CC, in which case you'll have to live with the macro, or live without CC. Sad
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
usblipitor



Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 516
Location: Greenbelt, MD

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark, would this work?

press CBL (that has your 0477 code in it)
press SET-0-0-0 and see what happens.
press SET-0-0-1 and see what happens.
.
.
press SET-2-5-5 and see what happens.

Write them all down. Even if you don't find a code for closed captions, you might find other codes you did not know existed.

Good Luck,
-Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnParks



Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Mark. I went to SA's, then Surf''s web site and will check out OFA.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnParks



Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark - I am using a device update for my SA cable box (1477). Couldn't I load it into RM substitute unknown functions for the known ones try them until maybe I find a cc function that works. Any suggestions here you could make would appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3009
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure, that's what Steve was talking about above, though he described the manual method of searching EFC's.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
usblipitor



Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 516
Location: Greenbelt, MD

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JohnParks wrote:
substitute unknown functions for the known ones try them until maybe I find a cc function that works.
Two ways to do this: (1) the way you describe, which is good if your computer is near your equipment. (2) Press the device button on the remote (like CBL) then start doing this (SET-EFC):
SET-0-0-0
SET-0-0-1
SET-0-0-2
and keep going till you get to SET-255. When you find a code that does something unique, write it down, and later add it to your device upgrade file.

The only time to avoid doing (1) or (2) is with televisions. Apparently, some televisions have one EFC code that will cause them to go into a "service mode" which television repair companies use to test the television. Unfortunately, if you are not a television repair company, you most likely will be unable to take the television out of this mode, and you will have to discard the television and buy a new one.

We should make a list of these "poisonous" codes. If someone does you wrong, drive by their house, and cast this spell on his television. Twisted Evil
_________________
-Steve
Beginner's Guide
CodeSearchFAQ
JP1Files
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnParks



Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Steve, I had no idea you could do a search like that. I'll load up the device up-date in RM, go to the function tab, make a list of the EFC's I don't need to try and then start the search.

First I will have to figure out how to determine if I'm getting a responce. CC can take a while to appear on the screeen after its activated. Probably go to the settings menu and see what happens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19618
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just created a master file of all the known SA Explorer codes. I used the 2000 and 8000 upgrades from Yahoo, plus the user and UEI codes from my site.

I only found 8 OBCs unaccounted for and I have listed these in the functions sheet.

Here's a link: Scientific_Atlanta_Explorer_Master.txt
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mr_d_p_gumby
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 1370
Location: Newbury Park, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
I've just created a master file of all the known SA Explorer codes. I used the 2000 and 8000 upgrades from Yahoo, plus the user and UEI codes from my site.
I only found 8 OBCs unaccounted for and I have listed these in the functions sheet.
BTW, I think you'll find that most cable companies have disabled the 30-second skip function. The last time I tried it, it just performed the return-to-live function instead. Sad
_________________
Mike England
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central