JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Keymoves with extender on 9910

View previous topic :: View next topic  
RoyGBiv

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 7:24 pm    Post subject: Keymoves with extender on 9910 Reply with quote

Please forgive me but I am a complete nOOB with extenders. I am trying to use an extender on an 9910 for only two reasons. I have a new D* HR20 DVR and I want to be able to program the favorite key to list, and I want to use the com/skip button as one of the other buttons from the original remote.

I followed the guide above to install the extender into IR. Since I only wanted to see if I knew what I was doing, I left everything as it was set in terms of device macros. Then using Keymap-master I added a new protocol and device for the HR20. I then tried to use Key Moves in IR to put the new functions onto the fav and com/skip keys.

I uploaded this simple task to the remote. It accepted the new program with a memory warning error, which I ignored. I pressed the TV device button followed by the power button, and the LCD screen said, "success." I presume this means the extender was activated.

I went to my TV and tried the new program. I had assigned the new device to the cable key. If I press the cable key followed by the usual commands for the DVR, they all work as advertised and expected from the way I laid them out in Keymap-master. The Key Moves didn't "take." The fav button still works to increase the channel by one, and the com/skip button does nothing.

Clearly I have not done some required step. Please help before I have to put myself (and the remote) out of my misery.

TIA

SMK
ElizabethD
Advanced Member

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote