JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Remote help. Which one?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mvh_2000



Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 11:26 am    Post subject: Remote help. Which one? Reply with quote

Hi,

Can someone tell me what remote to buy that will have the DirecTV H10 receiver as a standard 4 digit code(No learning needed for the DTV receiver) But I would like the remote to have learning capabilities for the TV.

Thanks
MVH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 727
Location: Des Moines, IA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only UEI made remote with preset code is ofa urc-6960, code is SAT 1377. Other remote brands with a code are the Sony rm-vl600, code SAT 3214. URC remotes R5, R7, RF10, RF20, and RF30, code in each is SAT 173. Then theres the RCA RCR-815, code 5094


Of course your H10 needs to be set to IR.
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18880
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I could pre-load the code into any of the remotes that I sell, such as the URC-8910, which is $20.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mvh_2000



Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks to both of you.

Rob,

Does it need to be a JP1 remote for you to pre load the code?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18880
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, but I only sell JP1 remotes, so that's not an issue.

Unless you mean, JP1 vs JP1.2, in which case no, it can be either.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 12:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Remote help. Which one? Reply with quote

mvh_2000 wrote:
But I would like the remote to have learning capabilities for the TV.


Do you know what TV it is?

If you get Rob to add a setup code for the H10 and there isn't a built-in setup code for the TV, wouldn't you rather figure that out in advance and ask for that as well.

I didn't know before that Rob was ready to add setup codes to JP1.2 remotes he sells. But since he is, I personally think the 8820 is a better choice. Its library of built-in setup codes is more likely to include current devices you might buy soon, and it has more learning capacity in case you have or buy a device it doesn't have built-in support for.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mvh_2000



Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm helping a friend with this. I believe it's a 44" DLP Toshiba
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 727
Location: Des Moines, IA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mvh_2000 wrote:
I'm helping a friend with this. I believe it's a 44" DLP Toshiba



if its the toshiba 44NHM84, it uses the LG code, 0178.


http://archive2.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showthread.php?t=243178
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Doesn't sound like you'll need either learning or an upgrade for the TV.

Even if it isn't the model Edmund suggested, a Toshiba DLP would not use some obscure code set. It must use some common code set that will certainly be in the 8820 and almost as certainly in the 8910 as well (TV/0178 of course is in both).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mvh_2000



Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for all the help!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central