JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

JP1 header tips for RS 2138 Kameleon

View previous topic :: View next topic  
catatonic

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 11:16 pm    Post subject: JP1 header tips for RS 2138 Kameleon Reply with quote

Hello guys, you got yourself a newbie here :p

Well, I built my first JP1 cable, athough at a massive 5 inches (at least it's being used on a laptop Smile ).

However, this leaves me at coming up with a way to get this thing to mate with the JP1 pads.

I read about some luck with drilling them and using pogo pins. So what about any other ways you guys have tried?

So far I have two ideas, but am not sure how well they wil work out...the first one is finding a 90 degree IDC pin set, and the other is finding a spare battery cover to mod into a clip in connector.

Thanks for any info.
The Robman
Site Owner

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not familiar with the 15-2138, but if it has pads like all the other Kameleons, I just solder pins onto the pads and then use hot glue for extra support.
catatonic

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ahh, yeah this one has the undrilled pads on them

It's a bit diferent from the older 2133 though. The batteries are spaced apart. Far enough that there is no interference if you were to solder in jp1 pins. The jp1 header is at the very bottom of the circuit board. And the final change is the battery cover is not a screw-in type...it's a spring tension type. This makes it so the apadter boards for the 2133 won't work....so it's a good reference for the future that the 2133 adapter just won't fit right.