JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Intermittent communiucation with IR
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Hall of Shame (and other funny stuff)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
e.axel
Exile Island Resident


Joined: 03 Feb 2006
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:30 pm    Post subject: Intermittent communiucation with IR Reply with quote

On both of the remotes I am working with (8811 and 9800), today I have been getting a lot of (Unable to communicate with remote). Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. Restarting the computer works some of the time. I read a post somewhere about remotes being very sensitive to battery voltage, but I can't find it now.
Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18047
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. Try it without batteries in the remotes
2. Try it with new batteries in the remotes
3. Try it with old batteries in the remotes
4. Try it with one of the batteries in the wrong way around
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
e.axel
Exile Island Resident


Joined: 03 Feb 2006
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess thats everything with batteries. I'll try it tomorrow.
What is the technical rationale here?
Thanks
Elliot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18047
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The first item on the list was WITHOUT batteries. The problem is that the Simple interface relies on the LPT1 ports voltage, which is not a standardized commodity. On some PCs it's higher than others. Next up is the voltage in the remote itself, with brand new fresh batteries the voltage will be higher than with old batteries. If the voltage in the remote is too high, when compared with the voltage in the LPT1 port, the interface might not work.

Reversing one of the batteries reduces the voltage from approx 6v to 4.5v.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
e.axel
Exile Island Resident


Joined: 03 Feb 2006
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you. I hope I will be able to get back to it later today. The 9800 is
controlling the replays perfectly now with my mods to the 0616 that was already in it, so this is just experimentation and an attempt to set up the 8811. I have yet to make any upgrade I have created from scratch work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18047
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Who put the VCR/0616 code into the URC-9800? Did you send it back to OFA for an upgrade? I ask because the VCR/0616 code is not native to the URC-9800.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
e.axel
Exile Island Resident


Joined: 03 Feb 2006
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I bought it on ebay, and subsequently discovered the 0616 (as well as an 0614 which I haven't touched) in the remote.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3953

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:

Reversing one of the batteries reduces the voltage from approx 6v to 4.5v.
Just to be anally-retentive for a moment, I would correct that reversing one battery SHOULD yield a battery compartment output voltage of ~3V, not 4.5 {1.5 + 1.5 + 1.5 - 1.5 = 3} Twisted Evil
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
whompus



Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 540

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

e.axel if you are still using the same ir file as you uploaded before. The keymoves in it are not set right to operate the functions it wants to. They should be set for device key vcr and setup code 0616. That is if it is still the one you uploaded named with replay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
underquark
Expert


Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 868
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Capn Trips wrote:
The Robman wrote:

Reversing one of the batteries reduces the voltage from approx 6v to 4.5v.
Just to be anally-retentive for a moment, I would correct that reversing one battery SHOULD yield a battery compartment output voltage of ~3V, not 4.5 {1.5 + 1.5 + 1.5 - 1.5 = 3} Twisted Evil
OK, Capn, since you're in voltage calculating mode; if you were to stick a potentiometer (variable resistor) in series with the batteries (via a pair of small contacts inserted between batteries or between one battery and its contact), what would be the optimum value (in Ohms) to give a decent, controllable spread of voltages?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
e.axel
Exile Island Resident


Joined: 03 Feb 2006
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Battery options don't seem to give any consistent result. I only seem to be able to get to the remote by restarting the computer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3011
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

e.axel wrote:
I only seem to be able to get to the remote by restarting the computer.
Do you have any printer drivers or other software that might be using the parallel port? I know I've had trouble in the past with HP printer drivers hogging the port after printing... only a reboot would allow me to use my simple interface.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18047
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

e.axel wrote:
I only seem to be able to get to the remote by restarting the computer.

That tells us that the problem is not with the remote, or it's batteries, but with the computer itself (and the software/drivers running on it).
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
e.axel
Exile Island Resident


Joined: 03 Feb 2006
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You guys designed the software!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3377
Location: Cary, NC

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not the JP1 software. Some other software on your PC that is using the parallel port, such as a printer driver.
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Hall of Shame (and other funny stuff) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central