JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Trouble getting my remote and computer to talk!
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
marc_paolo1

PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 3:25 pm    Post subject: Trouble getting my remote and computer to talk! Reply with quote

Hi,

Total newbie here. I have a URC-8910 B02 remote, and I just got a Parallel JP1 cable from diygadget.com. I'm using IR.exe version 6.15 and I run Win XP Pro, SP2 with all latest updates.

I've followed the directions on the diygadget page on how to get IR.exe to talk to the remote, but no dice. (http://www.diygadget.com/jp1/simple_cable.php)

I have a Compaq Evo N610c Laptop, and there is a parallel port. I plug in cable, start up IR.exe, and then when I go to Interface, Check Interface, I get the following error:

"No reponse from interface. Make sure the interface is connected to the PC and you've specified the correct port."

I've tried all the different port addresses (Interface, Parallel, then choose each address option), and still the same error.

Also, the remote LCD display is showing "all characters" while I have the JP1 cable hooked up. Is that normal? Also, are batteries supposed to be in or out during JP1 connection? I assume IN, but instructions I followed above have pictures with batteries out. I tried both ways, neither worked.

Ideas? Thanks in advance for your help!!! Idea
Capn Trips
Expert

PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote