JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Help with finding the correct RDF file for OEM Polaroid

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tfabris



Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 3:06 am    Post subject: Help with finding the correct RDF file for OEM Polaroid Reply with quote

Hello everyone. I've been away from the JP1 groups for quite a while, since I didn't have any major changes in my A/V equipment.

Well, suddenly I'm getting a divorce, and my wife wants to keep the Radio Shack 15-1994, which I suppose is OK since I painstakingly programmed it for all the TV gear she's keeping. Smile

Anyhoo. I picked upi this
Polaroid FLM-3201 television, which contains a JP1-enabled remote.

Well, I'm pretty sure it's JP1 enabled. It has six little pads inside the battery hatch labeled "JP1.2". After soldering pins onto those pads, my old JP1 parallel port interface plugs in nicely.

I'm sure this is a OneForAll remote because I've successfully used the old-standby "Volume Punch Through" code, and it worked like a charm. So I'm pretty sure the JP1 thing should work with this remote. I've downloaded the latest version of IR.EXE, and all the newest RDF files, and...

This remote doesn't have an RDF file of course. I'm sure one of these RDF files will work for it, because I'm sure this remote is just another OEM oneforall remote, but I just don't know which RDF is gonna work with it.

How would I go about figuring out which RDF would work with this remote?

Sorry I can't show you a picture of the remote, none of the web sites about the TV show its remote. If a digicam photo of the remote would be useful, then let me know and I'll take a photo and post it tomorrow.

Thanks in advance for any help you guys can provide. Smile
[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3959

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 3:38 am    Post subject: Re: Help with finding the correct RDF file for OEM Polaroid Reply with quote

tfabris wrote:
Well, suddenly I'm getting a divorce, and my wife wants to keep the Radio Shack 15-1994, which I suppose is OK since I painstakingly programmed it for all the TV gear she's keeping. Smile

Anyhoo. I picked upi this
Polaroid FLM-3201 television, which contains a JP1-enabled remote.

Well, I'm pretty sure it's JP1 enabled. It has six little pads inside the battery hatch labeled "JP1.2".
Thanks in advance for any help you guys can provide. Smile
Well, you won't like the answer, BUT... you're better off trading the Polaroid remote for the 1994 with your wife. Rolling Eyes JP1.2 is the newest Flash-type chip used by UEI and has no separate EEPROM and has NOT been successfully hacked (to date). If you search the forum for "JP1.2" you will find lots of discussion of these. NONE of the current JP1 tools will work with your remote. To my knowledge, there is no current effort underway to hack these newfangled chips. You could be the first, though. Very Happy
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
tfabris



Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 4:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aw darn. Well, at least that's a quick, accurate, and definitive answer. Thank you! Too bad trading remotes with the ex isn't an option at this point.

You know, I remember back when, in the heady days when MAME's own Nicola Salmoria first got involved in JP1 hacking, when he started doing amazing things with the chip protocols and such. So I know there's talent out there that could hack the 1.2 interface. Wish I had that kind of talent. Smile

Since the old-skool OFA keypad commands still seem to work for this remote, I wonder if I can be satisfied just by figuring out the necessary "advanced codes" for my devices. Honestly, I really only need some of the advanced codes for its Hughes Tivo device. The thing works to control the Tivo, it just leaves off a few critical keys that I need the advanced codes for.

I already tried the advanced codes I used on the old 1994. But since that was a custom-downloaded protocol that someone handwrote themselves, the built-in codes for this new remote aren't the same. You wouldn't happen to have a link to the OFA advanced codes for the Tivo keys, would you? Smile

I suppose I could also go looking for a 1994 somewhere...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tfabris



Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm. I found Advanced Codes for the Tivo and they're mostly the same ones from the old 1994 remote for SAT/0618 and SAT/1142. But the advanced-code-entry procedure isn't working for me, it gives a long blink instead of a doubleblink at the point it's supposed to confirm a good entry.

I noticed that on this remote I had to set up the device as CBL/01142. Note that extra leading zero digit. I wonder if the advanced-code-entry procedure has changed as well. And if the codes are different numbers or what?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Capn Trips
Expert


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3959

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 6:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm really way out of my depth here, but I believe that some newer UEI remotes use 5-digit EFCs as well as 5-digit setup codes. At least some of the new JP1 ones do. It may also carry over to these JP 1.2 units.

Beyond that, I have no idea how they are constructed, so another forum search might be in order. (For simple setup codes, I believe you just add 2 leading zeros, but for 2-byte functions there is another way to develop the five digits that I don't know)

You could also contact UEI/Polaroid and ask them to upgrade it. Does the manual say anything about that?
_________________
Beginners - Read this thread first
READ BEFORE POSTING or your post will be DELETED!


Remotes:Atlas OCAP URC 1056, Harmony One, OFA XSight Touch, AR XSight Touch
TVs: Panasonic TH-50PE700U; LG 65" Smart LED TV; RCVR: Pioneer VSX-D2016S;Onkyo TX-SR875
DVD/VCR: LG Blu-Ray player, Pioneer DV-400VK (multi-region DVD), Sony BDP-S350 (Blu-ray), Toshiba HD-A1 (HD-DVD), Panasonic AG-W1 (Multi-system VCR);
Laserdisc/CD changer: Pioneer CLD-704.
Streaming: Intel NUC PC
(But I still have to get up for my beer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19514
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The newer remotes do indeed use 5-digit EFCs (advanced codes) but AFAIK these remotes still use the standard 4-digit setup codes.

When a UEI remote uses 5-digit setup codes, the first digit usually represents the device mode. For example, all TV codes might be 1xxxx numbers and all VCR codes might be 2xxxx numbers.

The original VCR/0618 and SAT/1142 setup codes used a protocol that didn't support advanced codes (as it used 2 bytes of variable data) but this was updated in the more recent remotes so that it does support advanced codes.

However, it sounds like your remote doesn't support the 994 command. This isn't unusual for OEM remotes. The Replay 5000 remote doesn't support 994 either.

I'd like to see a picture of this remote if you can either find one, or take one.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tfabris



Joined: 31 Oct 2003
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Capn Trips wrote:
(For simple setup codes, I believe you just add 2 leading zeros


BINGO!!!! That did it. The setup-994 advanced Tivo codes worked when I preceded them with two leading zeroes.

I might be good to go, here, depending on how much memory this thing has for advanced codes.

Thanks for all your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central