JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

6131(old) no blinks when connected?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ElizabethD
Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 2332

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 8:19 am    Post subject: 6131(old) no blinks when connected? Reply with quote

Ultra cable. Laptop. (2) NiMh AA cells.
Is 6131(old style) supposed to blink after upload from IR?
The red dot on the IR screen blinks as it should.
But remote does not blink and behaves dead, i.e. pressing keys does not flash the LED, nor can it control the gear. (6131(new) does not behave this way).
If I remove one or both batteries, IR complains of bad connection.
As as matter of fact, I think it's a non-functional remote so long as it's connected to the computer.
As soon as I disconnect from the laptop, it all works like a charm.
Weird remote or a feature? How to isolate the cause if it's not a feature?

It seems opposite to what I'm used to from the 8910 where connecting or disconnecting causes a reset much of the time. But on this 6131 I can't tell what's going on since there's no LCD.
_________________
Liz
Tweeking 8910, HTPro/9811, C7-7800, 6131o, 6131n, AtlasOCAP-1056B01, RCA-RCRP05B and enjoying the ride Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do I understand correctly that the IR is able to read and write the EEPROM?

If so, then the problem doesn't seem worth serious investigation.

With the ordinary cable it is common for the reset line to be picky, so that the remote is held in a reset state the entire time it is connected, so you get the double blink on disconnect rather than on completion of upload or download. I don't know if the ultra cable can have similar problems.

You didn't say whether you get a double blink on reset.

If not, then you might have a similar problem but with SDA or SCL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ElizabethD
Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 2332

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

johnsfine wrote:
Do I understand correctly that the IR is able to read and write the EEPROM?

If so, then the problem doesn't seem worth serious investigation.

Thanks, John. Yes R/W EEPROM is just fine.
In a way for me it does deserve some investigation, because if it's defective I'm under a time limit to complain. I should have gotten the darn thing from Rob, but i could've sworn he didn't have any Crying or Very sad

johnsfine wrote:
With the ordinary cable it is common for the reset line to be picky, so that the remote is held in a reset state the entire time it is connected, so you get the double blink on disconnect rather than on completion of upload or download.
OK.

johnsfine wrote:
I don't know if the ultra cable can have similar problems.
Good question. I need to check some more. I just tried with the standard cable and I think the behaviour is different, but I do not yet have a set of reliable results. I'll report back. Remember, the 3v job applies to both new and old 6131, and new style is no issue for me.

johnsfine wrote:
You didn't say whether you get a double blink on reset.
Double blink on LKP-Set, 4 blinks after 981.

With ultra, I can connect and disconnect back and forth and it blinks fine, so long as up/download didn't occur. If it did, I lose the keyboard until it gets disconnected.
_________________
Liz
Tweeking 8910, HTPro/9811, C7-7800, 6131o, 6131n, AtlasOCAP-1056B01, RCA-RCRP05B and enjoying the ride Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19724
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm with John on this one, while it's not acting perfectly normal, it's not uncommon for remotes to be held in reset while connected to the cable.

So, what's this I hear about you buying your remotes elsewhere ??? Wink
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central