JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Onkyo HT-SR510 Discrete Upgrade

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sjmaye



Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 56
Location: Nashville, TN

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 10:28 am    Post subject: Onkyo HT-SR510 Discrete Upgrade Reply with quote

I know this question is an old one, but please just point me in the right direction.

I have a Onkyo HT-SR510 amp and want to have discrete codes for ON and OFF. I am using an upgrade numbered 1135 and it has a discrete power off using EFC 170, but I have nothing for a discrete power ON.

I see that Remote Central has the info I need. I have donwloaded the IR tool as posted in the sticky. I pasted the Pronto Hex code in to the IR tool and hit the decode button.

What do I do now to use this with the AMP 1135 upgrade I am using for my Onkyo receiver?


Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19505
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you supplied all the pieces of info that you refer to, someone here would be able to help.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sjmaye



Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 56
Location: Nashville, TN

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I read the #1 sticky and forgot. Sorry.

1. Device: Onkyo HT-SR510
2. Type of device: amp
3. JP1 Remote model: URC-9910 OFA
4. JP1 user? YES
5. Still have original remote? yes
6. Checked the file section? yes
7. Checked the Pronto file section yes
8. Partially working setup code? NO
9. Learning remote question? NO

I was looking for an upgrade containing the discrete on and off that I could load directly in to keymaster. Could not find one. I did find the Pronto Hex for the Onkyo discrete ON and OFF codes at RC.

I pasted the pronto hex from RC in to the IRTool and clicked DECODE. It placed some information in the boxes above where I pasted.

How do I use this in IR.exe?

Update- I found that I needed to have the DecodeIR.dll in the windows/system file. After doing this I get the dialog box after decoding. Now how do i use this information?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gjarboni
Expert


Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 294
Location: Columbia, MD

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This post contains information on how to take an EFC and assign it to a button (without JP1). Use that to put EFC 170 on a button. Looking at the device upgrade for the Onkyo HT-SR510, I didn't see a Discrete On. You could always use, Discrete Off, Power together for a discrete on. Or maybe the codes that change the input settings have a discrete on property.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
sjmaye



Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 56
Location: Nashville, TN

PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2005 6:03 am    Post subject: Onkyo HT-SR510 Discrete Upgrade Reply with quote

I had posted this in the Discrete Codes section, but after reading more I see I need to be asking in the Beginners area.

I have come to the point I want to use discrete ON and OFF commands for my HT. I have these for my TV. I need the same for my DVD player and HT amp.

The Amp is an Onkyo HT-SR510. I upgraded my OFA 9910 via JP1 cable with the upgrade #0135. I downloaded here(I think). It all worked great. I looked at the functions available and it shows a discrete OFF, but I tried to use it and it does not work.

I saw that RC had the discrete codes for these:
Power OFF
0000 006c 0022 0002 0156 00ac 0016 0016 0016 0040 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0040 0016 0016 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0016 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0016 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0040 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0016 0016 0040 0016 05cc 0156 0055 0016 0e5d

When put the above in IRTool I get this:
Protocol: NEC1
Device: 210.108
OBC: 71
EFC: 170


Power ON
0000 006c 0022 0002 0156 00ac 0016 0016 0016 0040 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0040 0016 0016 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0016 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0016 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0040 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0016 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 05cc 0156 0055 0016 0e5d

When put the above in IRTool I get this:
Protocol: NEC1
Device: 210.109
OBC: 4
EFC: 180

Not really know what to do next I took a look at my 0135 Onkyo Amp upgrade in KM. Things seems similar between the info I got from IRTool and the settings for the upgrade:

Protocol Name: NEC1 Combo
Device Code: 210

I looked at the functions tab and saw the previous attempt at a discrete OFF there. It showed:
power OFF EFC=170, byte 2= 108, OBC=071

This looks very similar to the output for power OFF above. I assumed the second number in Device was the byte2.

I tried adding a new function power on using:
function= power ON, EFC=180, byte2=109, OBC=4.

Sounded good, but it did not work. I was wondering if the difference between the NEC1 protocol and the NEC1 Combo protocol could be my problem.

Or do I need to may a completely new upgrade that has only these 2 functions in it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sjmaye



Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 56
Location: Nashville, TN

PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2005 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gjarboni wrote:
This post contains information on how to take an EFC and assign it to a button (without JP1). Use that to put EFC 170 on a button. Looking at the device upgrade for the Onkyo HT-SR510, I didn't see a Discrete On. You could always use, Discrete Off, Power together for a discrete on. Or maybe the codes that change the input settings have a discrete on property.


Hi,

Thanks for the info. I tried to do as instructed. It all worked well, but the button did not shutoff the receiver when pressed. I tried doing the same this with IR using the power off function #170 and no luck. I think the power off discrete included in this upgrade probably never worked and I am just finding out. I am back to trying to use the IRTool.

After reading a bunch I have come to the conclusion I put this post in the wrong forum and I am reposting in the beginners area.

Thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sfhub



Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 287

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think the 510 has discrete on, only discrete off, so you probably need to simulate with toadtog.

Also Onkyo uses multiple subdevice #s, so make sure you use subdev 108 (not subdev 109), EFC 170

This is my experience with HT-R500, which may or may not carry over to 510.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 1:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Onkyo HT-SR510 Discrete Upgrade Reply with quote

sjmaye wrote:

Sounded good, but it did not work. I was wondering if the difference between the NEC1 protocol and the NEC1 Combo protocol could be my problem.


I received your private message request to jump in here, but I don't really have much to add beyond what others have already explained.

But I can answer the specific question I just quouted. The NEC1 and NEC1 Combo protocols generate identical signals. So that difference is not your problem.

The difference between them is that NEC1 can have only one subdevice (108 or 109 in this context) per setup code. So to mix the two subdevices with the NEC1 protocol you would need a seperate setup code for each and then KeyMoves to combine them. The NEC1 Combo protocol can mix multiple subdevices into one setup code. It makes a larger upgrade (will use more of your upgrade memory than both upgrades combined done the other way) but likely needs fewer keymoves, so it saves keymove memory and reduces the complexity of managing those keymoves.

I can't guess (based on what you've posted) whether you got every detail right in defining and testing that discrete code. But since sfhub seems to know that your model doesn't support that discrete, it isn't surprising that it didn't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Code Search (Closed) All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central