JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

2 JP1 remotes

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MPG



Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 9:06 pm    Post subject: 2 JP1 remotes Reply with quote

I have looked to see if this has been covered before, but cant find any info.

I just got a DVR yesterday from Comcast and in looking on the net I *just* learned about JP1 and my URC7800. I am going to try an build a cable this weekend (mostly because I like building stuff instead of buying it).

I just looked at the remote that came with my DVR and noticed it has the 6 pin connection for JP1.

Will I be able to get the codes from the DVR remote and just transfer them to my URC7800?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3009
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 9:31 pm    Post subject: Re: 2 JP1 remotes Reply with quote

MPG wrote:
Will I be able to get the codes from the DVR remote and just transfer them to my URC7800?
Most likely the Comcast remote is NOT a JP1 remote. While it has the same connector, it uses different internal components that the JP1 tools currently don't support.

Even if it was JP1 capable, you can't extract any of the built-in codes. The JP1 tools are only designed to communicate with the EEPROM storage memory and not the ROM (where the built-in codes are stored).
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19451
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, but not the way you are thinking. What you can do is learn the buttons from the DVR remote using the 7800, then download the memory from the 7800 to get the code info, which you can use to build a new upgrade to make the 7800 work your DVR.

However, before you do that, you should check the file section to see if we already have an upgrade for this device (chances are we do).

Plus, if the DVR remote is one of the newer JP1.1 or JP1.2 remotes, you won't be able to use JP1 with it as these newer formats are not supported (yet).
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MPG



Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the quick replies!!!

I checked and found a file for my DVR in the file section. I can't wait to start tinkering.

Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central