JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Need help with 8810 and IR/KM with keyboard
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
86turbodsl

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 8:51 am    Post subject: Need help with 8810 and IR/KM with keyboard Reply with quote

I have an IR keyboard I'm trying to use with my homebrew pvr. I got a 8810 from Walmart and have a JP1 cable, and I can talk to the remote through IR.
I read the howto, but don't really understand it all that well. I'm not a programmer, so this stuff is kind of foreign to me.

I have learned several keys (the arrow keys) and don't know what to do to create a function code that will free up my learned memory.

Can anyone help?
johnsfine
Site Admin

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Keyboards can be a little trickier than other original "remotes", so maybe we should initially skip the step of talking you through interpreting what you see in IR's learned signals tab, and go straight to the step of uploading your .ir file to the diagnosis folder.

1) Learn several signals. It's nice to include some consecutive digits if the original device has digits.

2) For keyboards, it's nice to have an example of the same original key learned once with a long press and once with a very short press (using two different keys on the JP1 remote).

3) Download the eeprom contents to IR.EXE and use its file/save command to create a .ir file

4) Upload that .ir file to the diagnosis folder at
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=category&cat_id=35

5) Copy the URL of the link to your file that gets created in step 4.