JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

urc-6131 modified for replay and tivo
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jon2121



Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 9
Location: TUCSON

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
Jon,
If you want the non-ebay remotes to work like the ebay ones, you'll need to use a JP1 cable to copy the contents from one of the ebay remotes to the non-ebay remote.
I received my jp1 cable today. I was sruprised at how easy it was:
Connected it to a "Robman" ebay 6131.
Downloaded and ran remote master 1.2.
From the Remote menu, ran "download from remote" and saved the file.
Plugged the cable into a basic jp1 enabled 6131.
Loaded the file I saved (just to be sure).
Ran "upload to remote" from the Remote menu.
Behold! Duplicate remote.

My thanks to Robman for his great programming.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might confuse someone by saying "remote master" when you meant "IR.EXE". They are different programs.

As you described, one of the easiest JP1 tasks is to copy the eeprom contents from one JP1 remote to another of the same model.

Be sure to keep that saved file on your PC. It's pretty rare for a JP1 remote in normal use to corrupt its eeprom contents, but it has happened on occasion. If it ever happens (to either of those 6131's), you can just reload from the file on the PC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jon2121



Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 9
Location: TUCSON

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the correction.

I submitted the above post several hours after doing the upgrades and took a quick glance at my Opera file transfer list to get the name. It only showed remote master v1.2 and RDF v1.13. I just looked and found IR401.zip in my slimbrowser history.

Nobody really cares about my explanation. The above paragraph was mainly beneficial because it mentions a couple of better browser choices for any users still stuck on IE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central