JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Macros on device keys - Cinema 7

View previous topic :: View next topic  
aclinml

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2004 11:58 am    Post subject: Macros on device keys - Cinema 7 Reply with quote

Hi, newbie here. Just beginning to play with JP1 and IR.

When I go into IR for my URC-7800 (Cinema 7), I get the impression I can assign macros to the device keys. Since my TV has different inputs for my components, I wanted to do this. When I am building the macro for the DVD device key, I put in ;

TV;1L(my tv's dvd input);DVD

But when I go to use it, it looks like the device key does the same thing the unmodified remote does, just selecting the device.

Can you use macros on the device keys on the 7800, and if so, what am I doing wrong?

Thanks,
Mike
johnsfine
Site Admin

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2004 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need an "extender" to put macros on device keys on a 7800.
jon_armstrong
Expert

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2004 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You CAN use shifted-device keys for macros. So you might get everything working first using the shifted device keys and then go with the extender.
aclinml

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2004 10:27 pm    Post subject: How to make extender work? Reply with quote

OK, so help me with this extender stuff.

I've done no fancy programming or done anything with EFCs or OBCs and the like. I just wanted to backup my configuration so I can recall it into other cinema 7s I have.

My remote is like most new commers. Lots of learned keys, and several key moves.

I've read the READ.ME file from the 7800ex2.Zip, and it seems pretty difficult for me to load my configuration into it, so I would like a little newbie help.