JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Figuring out the OFA URC7980
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3278

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is very likely a JP2 remote, but rmir knows how to work with those. The key issue is to be sure that you do Raw Download, and not an ordinary one. Until we make a RDF file, RMIR won't be able to recognize your remote, we have to start with a raw download.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loft



Joined: 01 Dec 2015
Posts: 46
Location: Stuttgart, DE

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Raw download I tried so many times... "No remotes found!" No matter the orientation of the socket on the remote.
But I did notice that when I connect the remote reversed (marked pin is 6) but not connect the USB part, the two LED's on the USB part light up dimmed.
So I assume that the marked pin is 1.
The interface in RMIR is set to Auto-detect.
Any other ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4132

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try THIS version of RMIR.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loft



Joined: 01 Dec 2015
Posts: 46
Location: Stuttgart, DE

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I copied the contents of that archive over the old Remote Master directory... same result... Sad Loosing my hope here...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3278

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK,
Let's go under the assumption that it is a JP1.4, JP1.4N, JP2, or JP3 remote. We have a tool called JP2Sniffer that allows you to better control the sequence of events compared to RMIR.
Plug in your cable, start JP2Sniffer, tell it which Com port, go to the Low Level tab, and click Begin Comm. Hopefully, you'll see 00 02 51 53 00 02 00 02. The program sends 00 02 51 53, and the remote should send back 00 02 00 02. If it does send back 00 02 00 02, then click Get Info, and Get SigBlk, copy the text and post it here. If there is no reception from the remote or some other set of bytes, click End Comm while watching the remotes LED. It should blink twice. Let us know what you see.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loft



Joined: 01 Dec 2015
Posts: 46
Location: Stuttgart, DE

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe I should have started from the beginning with this.
Sadly I do not see anything. I JP2sniffer I only get 00 and time-out. And no LED's flash on the remote. No LED's are flashing on the USB port of the interface either.
I measured the voltage between remote pins (without anything connected) and it seems that between pin 1 and 2, 3, 4 and there seem to bi a 3.8-3.9 voltage difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4132

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No LEDs on the interface means the program isn't communicating with the interface. Verify you're running the latest driver, and confirm you're selecting the correct comm port. The port can change when you plug in the cable.

http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm

I know you said you bought the chip partner cable, but could you post a link so we know exactly what you have?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loft



Joined: 01 Dec 2015
Posts: 46
Location: Stuttgart, DE

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I updated the driver to latest version. (before I was using 2.10 as recommended somewhere around the forum) Now the green LED on the USB port flashes once but I still get a time-out.
The cable I have is this one: http://www.ebay.com/itm/261101529602
I somehow feel that the pinout on this remote is different.
Did you guys know about any successful story when it comes to getting information from the manufacturer (One Fol All in my case)?

PS: Redid the loopback test and it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3278

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I very much doubt that OneForAll wants to describe how you can hack their remotes.

Anyway, perhaps the remote actually is a JP1.3. If so, try following the instructions here for low level communications with a JP1.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4132

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A signature blink back wouldn't hurt either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loft



Joined: 01 Dec 2015
Posts: 46
Location: Stuttgart, DE

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

3FG, the remote doesn't stay in serial mode. With or without Set/Clear Break, it comes back to normal state after 2-3 seconds (in that moment, the receive LED blinks once). I also noticed that while I am pushing the remote's buttons, in normal mode, I get some repeated character on the terminal prompt.

mdavej, the signature blink back is 502604 (didn't count the last blink as it remains solid). After the 6th digit, the LED turns off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4132

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think this is the first remote we've seen with a signature starting with 5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loft



Joined: 01 Dec 2015
Posts: 46
Location: Stuttgart, DE

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yey! I am the owner of a new series of remotes!
I wish I had one with USB port. Maybe it would have been easier.
So now what? Should I send it to one of you guys, to check its guts?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4132

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lucky you Sad

I'm not sure what the next steps are. But if you just want a good remote, the Nevo C2 from ebay is only $16 US and is far more functional than yours, and it works 100% with RMIR. You've probably already seen the list of the 100+ other remotes we do currently support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19807
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Daves (3FG and mdavej), if Loft is willing to send it to one of you, are either of you up for seeing if you can hack it in person?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 2 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central