JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

TCL AIR CONDITIONER REMOTE GYKQ-03
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 1084

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2020 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ylaviolette wrote:

I agree that the best scenario is stick on emitters, however in some instances (like the AC discussed in this thread) the device is hard to reach (top of staircase) and a strong emitter would come in handy. However I am still unsure what drives/impacts the signal strength : power supply, unit quality, number of connected emitters, type of emitters, other? Based on testing done on my USB-UIRT, I can attach a lot of emitters in parallel but power degrades proportionally to the point I have about 3 feet of range. Fine for stick on but unusable for my AC.

Never connect diodes (like *-LEDS) in parallel!!! At least let them have their own resistor. Main parameters are the current and the radiation angle. If mounting things stationary, try something with a narrow angle like SFH4545 (10deg). And make sure they are 940-950nm.

Quote:

- Can I reuse my existing emitters and cabling (as mentioned, recycled emitters from old remotes + standard small gauge 2wire cabling)

I strongly suggest using components with available data sheets. Using IRDA-Leds (890nm) is a bad idea... Suggestion SFH454X, X=4,5,6 (or equivalent Vishay TSAL6100 etc)

Quote:

- Since codes are managed by my home automation server, what is the benefit of the flash database?

None, really. The manual says:

devices with the optional IR database offer additionally:
* 128k IR database (sufficient for approx. 1000-1500 IR commands)
* Use withour IRServer
*128k flash memory for own html pages

you definitely want 2, but to my knowledge, this should not require the flash. But do not take my word for it.

Quote:
- What about the Wifi version, seems like a good option, any downsides?

I try to avoid WiFi for stationary devices.

Quote:
- Does it support Pronto Hex as I have a ton of existing codes and not sure I want to redo everything (unless conversion is simple).

No. It is the job of the driver. Here is the one used in IrScrutinizer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ylaviolette



Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2020 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Never connect diodes (like *-LEDS) in parallel!!!


Can you elaborate on the impact as I've been set up like this for 10+ yrs and it works flawlessly (except for the limited range). I assume the power supply has constant voltage and overload protection.

"The USB-UIRT has an internal 82-ohm current limiting resistor and transistor driver for each channel of output (L and R channels of the stereo jack)."

http://usbuirt.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=112

"The jack is STEREO and this was done so that those handy with electronics could have two separate current-limited outputs on the 1/8" jack.
The strength of the output jack *can* be increased but requires soldering in a different resistor."

http://usbuirt.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=305
http://www.usbuirt.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=820


So I guess I'll have to identify which leds are stick-ons and which ones are "blasters" since they probably drive more current. Then assign blasters only for long range ans ensure other ones are stick on only.

The USBUIRT integrated emitter is a separate blaster and therefore works perfectly whatever is connected to the jack output.

the Other option would be to change the onboard resistor but I won't probably go there and just purchase the Global cache if needed.


Quote:
No. It is the job of the driver.


As you can see in this thread, I have spent hours decoding non-standard remotes which are never available in standard databases; therefore I need to have the ability to manually enter custom codes (ideally pronto Hex or something that can be converted from Pronto Hex). I don't want to rely on hit and miss learns, a proprietary format that needs to be relearned from scratch or even worse on some incomplete database.

here are the 2 available drivers for Homeseer:

https://shop.homeseer.com/products/homeseer-global-cache-gc100-itach-software-plug-in

https://shop.homeseer.com/products/ultrajones-ultragcir3-plug-in-for-hs3

If what I seek is possible with Globalcache Flex can you give me a high level idea of the process to get from an existing Pronto code to something that would work in Homeseer ?

Thanks for your feedback!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19505
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2020 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ylaviolette wrote:
Rob: If you'd like to test something else let me know, I'll be glad to help.

If there are other things that you can turn on or off, or turn up or down, I'd certainly be interested to see some more learns. As you can probably tell, it's fun for us to decode these signals, and I would like to decode that checksum at some point too, but I'd need a complete set of learns to do that.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 1084

PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ylaviolette wrote:
Quote:
Never connect diodes (like *-LEDS) in parallel!!!


Can you elaborate on the impact as I've been set up like this for 10+ yrs and it works flawlessly (except for the limited range).

Last sentence reminds me of "The food is flawless (except for the taste)" Wink .Theoretically: LEDs are in general considered as voltage generators, and connecting these (unless identical) in parallel is simply a "degenerate circuit" in circuit theory. Leads to equations with no solutions. More pragmatically, the most likely do not go up in a puff of smoke, but (again, unless they are absolutely identical) you have no idea of what is really going on. Most likely, the current is not equally distributed. Just don't do it. At least use one resistor per LED.

The quoted passages all talk about different channels or such.

Quote:

Quote:
No. It is the job of the driver.


As you can see in this thread, I have spent hours decoding non-standard remotes which are never available in standard databases; therefore I need to have the ability to manually enter custom codes (ideally pronto Hex or something that can be converted from Pronto Hex). I don't want to rely on hit and miss learns, a proprietary format that needs to be relearned from scratch or even worse on some incomplete database.


You should really have a closer look at IrScrutinizer (and possbly also IrpTransmogrifier). It transforms "every" format of IR signals to its internal format (Java classes IrSignal and IrSequence); a driver for e.g. a device like GlobalCache basically takes an IrSignal/IrSequence, transforms it to the form for the device (without necessarily exposing that form) and sends it. (This is symbolized by the icon, the Babel fish.)

Homeseer is proprietary, non-free software; you have to ask them for support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ylaviolette



Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2020 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob:

Quote:
If there are other things that you can turn on or off, or turn up or down, I'd certainly be interested to see some more learns. As you can probably tell, it's fun for us to decode these signals, and I would like to decode that checksum at some point too, but I'd need a complete set of learns to do that.


I have learned the following codes and uploaded to

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=toplist&mode=newest&days=7&selected_date=1584894907

(On-Off here means pre-enabling the feature then pressing the master off and the master on - I could also upload the features "toggle")

Feel off
feel on
dry off
dry on
fan off
fan on
heat 23 off
heat 23 on
fan high off(cool 16 auto mode)
fan high on
fan mid off
fan mid on
fan low off
fan low on
timer 24h
sleep on
sleep off

PS: out of curiosity, could this eventually be converted into a usable protocol? Otherwise, you rapidly fill up the "learned signals" memory on most remotes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ylaviolette



Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2020 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Barf:

Since the device itself works very well, I will probably start by using a repeater; the only problem I'm trying to resolve is signal range. I guess this should do the job, as long as the provided emitters have a good range and/or if I can add "blaster" type emitters myself.

https://www.amazon.com/Repeater-Control-Extender-Infrared-emitter/dp/B07D1PWW7J/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8&th=1

Otherwise, I'll probably go the GlobalCache Flex + IRscrutinizer route.

Thx again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19505
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2020 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ylaviolette wrote:
PS: out of curiosity, could this eventually be converted into a usable protocol? Otherwise, you rapidly fill up the "learned signals" memory on most remotes.

That's always a challenge with A/C protocols, if you try to exactly replicate how the original remote works, you'd need to be able to pass about 10 variables into it, which isn't practical. To really do it well, you'd need to be able to store values in the remote itself, so you can store the current temp setting, etc but which ones are available varies by remote.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ylaviolette



Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2020 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
To really do it well, you'd need to be able to store values in the remote itself, so you can store the current temp setting, etc but which ones are available varies by remote.


Thanks, not really a problem, since I will be using Homeseer to store all codes+ external device to send.

The only potential standard remote usage would be ON-OFF and 1-2 options, so I could rely on learn codes memory.

Cheers,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19505
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2020 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's a spreadsheet of all the data decoded, the red data never changes. I suspect that there are more "timer 24h" signals you could decode, because that one changed 3 different columns of data that don't otherwise change.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25903

I'm also starting to think that I was right in my original decode of the 1s and 0s, and the reason why the temps seem complemented is because they subtract that number from 25c.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ylaviolette



Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2020 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I suspect that there are more "timer 24h" signals you could decode, because that one changed 3 different columns of data that don't otherwise change.


here's a list of timers:

24h
23h
22h
21h
20h
19h
18h
17h
16h
15h
14h
13h
12h
11h
10h
9.5h
9h
6h
3h
1h
0.5h

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25906
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ylaviolette



Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2020 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quick update: issue resolved with the USB-UIRT

now using the "zones" feature to minimize the number of emitters per channel and hacked the internal blaster.
works a charm and Homeseer driver supports the 4 zones.

- Zone 1 = All

- Zone 2 = external 1/8 jack: ground + tip (soldered 2 wires directly to the board to avoid bad contacts with the stereo jack)

- Zone 3 = external 1/8 jack: ground + ring (soldered 2 wires directly to the board to avoid bad contacts with the stereo jack)

- Zone 4 = stock = two internal blaster emitters in series; I unsoldered one of the two emitters and soldered 2 wires so I can now extend it to any location. Works a charm for hard to reach devices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19505
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have re-loaded my spreadsheet with the updated data, I decoded the timer values. There are 2 tabs now, one for each view of the data (ie, complemented and not).

For some reason I never see all of your learns when I decode your ict files, for example, with the new data the 10h and 18h learns are missing.

Right now, I'm looking to see if I can decode the checksum.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25903
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ylaviolette



Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds good, let me know if you'd like to see some specific learns. I'll upload them, thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19505
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I figured out the checksum and it confirmed that my original orientation of the data was correct, so I have reduced it down to one tab of data.

I have added a new tab that you can use to build Pronto hex where you can tell it what each part should be, using the data tab for guidance.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ylaviolette



Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, great work; Thx Rob.

If I find time to do so, I can upload a full set of data from my other AC remote;
could be useful to extract checksum/HEX builder as it also seems to be a common OEM model shared across various lines/brands of Chinese AC's.

Will keep you posted once I am done with my (neverending) Homeseer integration/migration.

Cheers,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central