JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

MUX-HD decode

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
picree



Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 26
Location: East Tennessee

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 10:42 pm    Post subject: MUX-HD decode Reply with quote

This is for an HDMI switcher. I cannot get this to work with my 15-2117 remote and I'm at a loss for why. If the 15-2117 and the OEM remote waveforms match exactly are there any other troubleshooting options for making it work? Sorry if I didn't upload this all in the right format. I've been working on this all day and am pretty tired. Details:

Using IRScope, PB, and KM I have created a protocol. Uploaded it with IR. Comparing the waveforms from the OEM remote with my 15-2117 gives IDENTICAL results afa timing and bits. The NEC1 IRP I came up with is:

{37.9k}<580,-550|580,-1650>(16,-8,D:8,~D:8,F8,~F:8,1,-73(16,-4,1,-175)*)

Here is the protocol I get from PB:

Upgrade protocol 0 = 01 FE (S3C8+) MUX-HD (PB v4.02)
44 8B 11 8B 19 A5 DC 80 20 08 08 01 22 03 25 01
22 00 FF 4E 20 11 94 08 B6 FF 03 FF BB 80 8D 01
46
End

The summary info from IRScope for OEM and 15-2117 are:
DECODES:

# Frequency Protocol Device OBC Hex Note Misc Start End Error
1 37898 NEC1 64 3 3F + 2 dittos 0 37
2 37868 NEC1 64 3 3F + 2 dittos 0 37

RAW TIMING DATA:

1: +9037 -4490 +584 -569 +578 -548 +552 -569 +557 -569 +584 -543 +578 -548 +578 -1696 +557 -543 +578 -1695 +558 -1695 +578 -1669 +584 -1669 +552 -1695 +584 -1643 +578 -548 +578 -1669 +584 -1690 +557 -1669 +584 -569 +552 -548 +578 -569 +558 -569 +557 -543 +604 -543 +584 -542 +558 -569 +578 -1695 +558 -1695 +578 -1669 +584 -1690 +557 -1696 +578 -1669 +584 -39969 +9004 -2269 +558 -96295 +9031 -2243 +578 -271774
2: +8984 -4495 +578 -543 +584 -542 +584 -543 +578 -569 +584 -542 +584 -543 +578 -1648 +578 -569 +584 -1643 +578 -1648 +578 -1643 +584 -1642 +605 -1648 +578 -1643 +584 -542 +605 -1648 +578 -1643 +584 -1642 +584 -569 +578 -543 +584 -542 +584 -543 +578 -548 +578 -569 +558 -569 +578 -548 +578 -1643 +584 -1642 +605 -1648 +578 -1643 +584 -1642 +584 -1643 +578 -40048 +9005 -2269 +578 -96048 +8978 -2269 +584 -272295

ANALYSED TIMING DATA:

1: Protocol=NEC1 Device=64 OBC=3
IRP form: Undetermined
Single: +9037 -4490 +571 -556 +571 -556 +571 -556 +571 -556 +571 -556 +571 -556 +573 -1682 +571 -556 +573 -1682 +573 -1682 +573 -1682 +573 -1682 +573 -1682 +573 -1682 +571 -556 +573 -1682 +573 -1682 +573 -1682 +571 -556 +571 -556 +571 -556 +571 -556 +571 -556 +571 -556 +571 -556 +571 -556 +573 -1682 +573 -1682 +573 -1682 +573 -1682 +573 -1682 +573 -1682 +584 -39969 +9018 -2256 +558 -96295 +9018 -2256 +578 -271774
2: Protocol=NEC1 Device=64 OBC=3
IRP form: Undetermined
Single: +8984 -4495 +580 -552 +580 -552 +580 -552 +580 -552 +580 -552 +580 -552 +585 -1644 +580 -552 +585 -1644 +585 -1644 +585 -1644 +585 -1644 +585 -1644 +585 -1644 +580 -552 +585 -1644 +585 -1644 +585 -1644 +580 -552 +580 -552 +580 -552 +580 -552 +580 -552 +580 -552 +580 -552 +580 -552 +585 -1644 +585 -1644 +585 -1644 +585 -1644 +585 -1644 +585 -1644 +578 -40048 +8992 -2269 +578 -96048 +8992 -2269 +584 -272295

The device upgrade from KM is:

Upgrade Code 0 = 0B F9 (TV/1017) MUX-HD (KM v9.22)
FE 00 81 02 00 80 40 C0 00 00 00 00 00 00
End
_________________
Curt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3291

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Curt,
Maybe I misunderstand your intent, but ordinarily there is no need to try to write a new protocol when you have a NEC1 decode. Your remote already has the NEC1 protocol executor built in.

I don't use KM (and frankly, I'm not sure why you would want to either, given the maturity of RMIR) but I think you simply need to select your remote, KM defaults to NEC1, enter 64 as the device, on the Functions tab select OBC entry, and enter 3 as the OBC.

Then the upgrade would look like (where I've mapped this to CH+)
Upgrade Code 0 = C3 F9 (Misc Audio/1017) keymap-master Device Upgrade (KM v9.21)
5A 00 21 00 FD FD 3F 00
End

No protocol upgrade is necessary. Why not try that approach? The homemade protocol may have some oddities in the repeat behavior.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eferz
Expert


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 11:30 pm    Post subject: Re: MUX-HD decode Reply with quote

picree wrote:
This is for an HDMI switcher. I cannot get this to work with my 15-2117 remote and I'm at a loss for why. If the 15-2117 and the OEM remote waveforms match exactly are there any other troubleshooting options for making it work? Sorry if I didn't upload this all in the right format.

I believe that most of our seniors would prefer the files to be uploaded into the Diagnostics Area (http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=category&cat_id=35).

Anyways, Recorded the IR signals with the JP1 tools to create the respective files.
I hope it helps.
_________________
Remotes; JP1.2: Comcast URC-1067, JP1.3: Insignia NS-RC02U-10A, JP1.4 OARI06G, JP2.1: Cox URC-8820-MOTO (still trying to figure out how to make them self-aware.)


Last edited by eferz on Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:13 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
picree



Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 26
Location: East Tennessee

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the replies. I started down the IRScope path because I didn't know the protocol was NEC1. After using IR Widget, IRScope said the IRP form was "Undetermined". I assumed at that point further investigation was required to create a custom protocol of sorts.

I used KM because the last time I set up a remote was six years ago..KM was what I knew...and there was no RMIR (never used) Embarassed . I will try it out.

Sorry about not uploading to the diagnosis area Embarassed I tried to upload within the thread and when I couldn't I assumed I wasn't allowed to upload or something...didn't know about the diagnosis area and the intended use here. So now I've got this whole thread messed up. Embarassed

3FG wrote:
...I think you simply need to select your remote, KM defaults to NEC1, enter 64 as the device, on the Functions tab select OBC entry, and enter 3 as the OBC.


OK-I tried this simple solution and I get the exact same result/behavior as when using my "custom" protocol (so I guess the protocol I created is...fine whatever). Details:

What I want:
OBC 0=>Input 0
OBC 1=>Input 1
OBC 2=>Input 2
OBC 3=>Input 3

What I get (with either "my" protocol or the built in NEC1 protocol):
OBC 0=>does nothing
OBC 1=>Input 0
OBC 2=>Input 1
OBC 3=>Input 2

They are all shifted down by one yet, when I check, the waveforms match perfectly. Any thoughts? Tell me what files you want and I can upload them and link here.

(BTW, @eferz both of the links point to the ICT file)
_________________
Curt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eferz
Expert


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

picree wrote:
Thanks for the replies. I started down the IRScope path because I didn't know the protocol was NEC1. After using IR Widget, IRScope said the IRP form was "Undetermined". I assumed at that point further investigation was required to create a custom protocol of sorts.

You may want to update to the current version of IR Scope. It sounds like your current tools are a little dated.

picree wrote:
(BTW, @eferz both of the links point to the ICT file)

Sorry, the upgrade was uploaded. I just pasted the incorrect link. URL has been fixed.
_________________
Remotes; JP1.2: Comcast URC-1067, JP1.3: Insignia NS-RC02U-10A, JP1.4 OARI06G, JP2.1: Cox URC-8820-MOTO (still trying to figure out how to make them self-aware.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
picree



Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 26
Location: East Tennessee

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eferz wrote:
You may want to update to the current version of IR Scope. It sounds like your current tools are a little dated.


I'll check but ALL the tools I'm using were just downloaded a day or so ago...maybe I accidentally got an old version in the dl. Nonetheless, I only needed to use KM and IR to do what 3FG suggested. The funny thing is when I decode the OEM remote AND my 15-2117 with IR Widget I get identical waveforms on all four keys but yet the 15-2117 behaves like described above? Confused Confused
_________________
Curt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eferz
Expert


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

picree wrote:
I'll check but ALL the tools I'm using were just downloaded a day or so ago...maybe I accidentally got an old version in the dl. Nonetheless, I only needed to use KM and IR to do what 3FG suggested. The funny thing is when I decode the OEM remote AND my 15-2117 with IR Widget I get identical waveforms on all four keys but yet the 15-2117 behaves like described above? Confused Confused

Did you see the ICT file from my IR Scope records? They were decoded without any issues.
_________________
Remotes; JP1.2: Comcast URC-1067, JP1.3: Insignia NS-RC02U-10A, JP1.4 OARI06G, JP2.1: Cox URC-8820-MOTO (still trying to figure out how to make them self-aware.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
picree



Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 26
Location: East Tennessee

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The one you linked to above? I looked at it but I'm at work right now. I will look at it tonight and reply here.

Is RM the same thing as RMIR?
_________________
Curt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eferz
Expert


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

picree wrote:
The one you linked to above? I looked at it but I'm at work right now. I will look at it tonight and reply here.

Is RM the same thing as RMIR?

Sort of... they're both packaged in the same java compilation. RemoteMaster (RM) is the device upgrade editor and is the Java equivalent or KM. Whereas, RMIR is the new Java equivalent of IR with RM fully integrated.
_________________
Remotes; JP1.2: Comcast URC-1067, JP1.3: Insignia NS-RC02U-10A, JP1.4 OARI06G, JP2.1: Cox URC-8820-MOTO (still trying to figure out how to make them self-aware.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
picree



Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 26
Location: East Tennessee

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IR Widget was right that the protocol was NEC1 64. In the end the protocol I "created" and the std NEC1 in the 15-2117 both worked. I uploaded the MUX-HD.rmdu file to the forum here but it didn't show up (I suppose admin must review it first?). It's just a simple device upgrade mapping keys 1,2,3,4 to inputs 0,1,2,3 to go into a RS 15-2117.

Anyways the problem was simple. I was told the remote used keys 0,1,2,3 for inputs 0,1,2,3. When in fact it used keys 1,2,3,4 for inputs 0,1,2,3. Embarassed Embarassed So the whole thing would have worked from the beginning had I gotten the keymappings correct.

The device is a 4-port HDMI switcher by moome. It has no other buttons or features other than the selection of 4 inputs (not even a power button).

Thanks so much for all the fast/prompt support! Very much appreciated!
_________________
Curt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eferz
Expert


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

picree wrote:
IR Widget was right that the protocol was NEC1 64. In the end the protocol I "created" and the std NEC1 in the 15-2117 both worked. I uploaded the MUX-HD.rmdu file to the forum here but it didn't show up (I suppose admin must review it first?).

No, actually your file is here (http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=10276) at the root of its parent's folder. My RMDU version (http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=10265) of the MUX-HD is where you described.

picree wrote:
The device is a 4-port HDMI switcher by moome. It has no other buttons or features other than the selection of 4 inputs (not even a power button).

I believe the box is manufactured by Moome, but was originally developed by PJI. That would explain why the device appears as PJI Mux-HD on the Logitech Harmony Database. Besides look at the following links:
Btw, did you try using my device upgrade? I programmed all the buttons from the remote as listed on the Moome link above.
    Key) Function
  • 0) input select HDMI0
  • 1) input select HDMI1
  • 2) input select HDMI2
  • 3) input select HDMI3
  • Reset) Reset audio
  • A) RGB output mode
  • B) By pass mode
picree wrote:
Thanks so much for all the fast/prompt support! Very much appreciated!

You're welcome. Glad to help.
_________________
Remotes; JP1.2: Comcast URC-1067, JP1.3: Insignia NS-RC02U-10A, JP1.4 OARI06G, JP2.1: Cox URC-8820-MOTO (still trying to figure out how to make them self-aware.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
picree



Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 26
Location: East Tennessee

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eferz wrote:
Btw, did you try using my device upgrade? I programmed all the buttons from the remote as listed on the Moome link above.
    Key) Function
  • 0) input select HDMI0
  • 1) input select HDMI1
  • 2) input select HDMI2
  • 3) input select HDMI3
  • Reset) Reset audio
  • A) RGB output mode
  • B) By pass mode


I did try it tonight. I can't test Reset audio since I don't use that. Power is n/a with this device. Everything else works fantastic including the four input selects and the video by-pass switches! So, yes PJI-MUX-HD works fine as far as I can test it. For completeness I uploaded the file I created to the correct sub forum and updated it to include all the keys.

What messed me up from the beginning was that the datasheet said key 0, 1, 2, 3 mapped to inputs 0, 1, 2, 3. In reality, the remote that came with my MUX-HD has keys 1, 2, 3, 4 mapped to inputs 0, 1, 2, 3. So, when I Learned it I learned key 0 (OBC 0, Hex FF) and mapped it to key 1. It didn't do anything. The way you have it mapped the buttons track the inputs. I've remapped them on keys 1,2,3,4 because that makes more sense to me.

Again thanks for your help.
_________________
Curt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eferz
Expert


Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

picree wrote:
eferz wrote:
Btw, did you try using my device upgrade? I programmed all the buttons from the remote as listed on the Moome link above.
    Key) Function
  • 0) input select HDMI0
  • 1) input select HDMI1
  • 2) input select HDMI2
  • 3) input select HDMI3
  • Reset) Reset audio
  • A) RGB output mode
  • B) By pass mode


I did try it tonight. I can't test Reset audio since I don't use that. Power is n/a with this device. Everything else works fantastic including the four input selects and the video by-pass switches! So, yes PJI-MUX-HD works fine as far as I can test it. For completeness I uploaded the file I created to the correct sub forum and updated it to include all the keys.

Again thanks for your help.

You're welcome. Glad to help. Just knowing that it works is thanks enough. Smile
_________________
Remotes; JP1.2: Comcast URC-1067, JP1.3: Insignia NS-RC02U-10A, JP1.4 OARI06G, JP2.1: Cox URC-8820-MOTO (still trying to figure out how to make them self-aware.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central