JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Problems with computers and USB JP1 cables
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
wejones

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2011 2:31 pm    Post subject: Problems with computers and USB JP1 cables Reply with quote

I've been doing JP1 for years with RS 1995, 2116, and OFA 9910 remotes.
For several years, I was using a simple cable which I bought, I can't remember if it was serial or parallel, but I THINK serial. But I switched over to a USB cable that I bought a few years ago, which worked directly with the above regular JP1 remotes, mainly because my new laptop didn't have serial or parallel ports. I've since lost the old cable.

The USB model I bought was one of those light gray square plastic boxes with a ribbon cable going to the remote. This worked well for a couple years, then several weeks ago, I tried it, and it not only wouldn't work, it caused a blue screen of death on my computer. Strange thing was, that if I switched to another computer, the cable worked fine. Both computers were XP, but the one it worked on was older and didn't have up to date service packs. Ie, I'm not sure if going to a newer service pack on my main laptop did something that killed the USB cable's capability or if some other USB devices I use conflicts with the JP1 stuff or what. The USB ports on my laptop are a bit flakey, due to poor connections, but generally work, even for high speed video from sat receivers, thumb drives, and other USB devices.

So I decided to buy a NEW JP1 cable. I bought one of those Tommy Tyler cables, along with the adapter to use it with regular JP1 remotes, and I also bought one of those little widget things.