JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

comcast HD box RNG110?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
greenough1



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 659

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:11 pm    Post subject: comcast HD box RNG110? Reply with quote

Hi,
Just swapped out the old motorola cable box for a box with HDMI out. The "new" xfiinity boxes have a model number of RNG110 on the front. The lady at the comcast office said it's a Pace box, but I can't confirm this.

I'm looking for an upgrade to control this device, if one already exists. Searching the file section under pace or comcast didn't show an RNG110.

I'm currently on hold with comcast trying to get the box activated. I'll take a look at what they preloaded into the comcast remote when I get off of the phone, as I'm sure that'll help.

I do note that this box is *way* sluggish. (1 hour and still not activated, grr!).

Best,
jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greenough1



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 659

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't seem to be able to dump the remote they gave me. It's a silver one like the 1057's, but my jp1.x cable is unable to dump it. I get a "failed to open JP1.X interface". The cable works for all my atlas 1056 OCAP's. I have an old serial cable, but no computer that can drive it.

The remote has a 6 pin header and says "1003" above it on the PCB. The sticker in the battery compartment says:
RC1475505/03MB 15483
CIFA No: 19100
Made in Indonesia COB
BS: 01 41103 027721 LF

I did verify that the RNG110 is a Pace box. I'll try an upgrade for another of the Cisco analog to digital converters and see it that works. You can find the manual for it by googling rng110, the pdf is the first link listed.

Best,
jeff


Last edited by greenough1 on Tue Apr 12, 2011 1:55 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greenough1



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 659

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:52 pm    Post subject: NEVERMIND... Reply with quote

Hi again,

It looks like this box responds to the Motorola commands. I just tried my atlas programmed for the moto box and it controls guide and channel changes just fine. That's all that's required.

Wierd I couldn't dump the new comcast remote.

Best,
jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3246

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Silver Comcast remotes with a red OK/Select button are generally 1067BX3 remotes, and a couple of mine have 1003 written beside the connector.

Why not use a 983 command to blink back the signature? I guess it will be 3039.

Any chance you have the cable on backwards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greenough1



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 659

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi 3FG,
I'll blink it (the sig) back when I get home. I tried the cable both ways and with 2 sets of new batteries. I've got another 1067 comcast remote that I can access with no issues. This new one is just odd.

I looked on avsforum for RNG110 info. There're a couple of threads there. One implies that the IR protocol for this box is the same as that for the moto boxes (telling me something I've already found out Wink ).

Best,
jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7050
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blink back the setup code too.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
greenough1



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 659

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
The setup code on the cable key is 01376. The signature is 3039.
Best,
Jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chas6000



Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 111
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

greenough1 wrote:
Hi,
The setup code on the cable key is 01376. The signature is 3039.
Best,
Jeff


Hi Jeff,

I am very poor at this stuff, but could you point me to an upgrade that i can use with a JP1 remote to control this RNG110 box?

many thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3246

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are lots of upgrades here for Motorola boxes which use cable 1376 (or 01376). Here's one.

However, some RNG1X0 boxes only respond to the XMP IR protocol. In that case, try this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chas6000



Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 111
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 7:06 am    Post subject: Thanks 3FG! Reply with quote

thanks for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central