JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Dreambox remote and Philips RC6

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Wiljan



Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 6:20 am    Post subject: Dreambox remote and Philips RC6 Reply with quote

Hi

I have a Dreambox remote URC-39730 B02-00 (JP1) which works fine for my Dreambox and for the old TV (RC5) I used a philips forlong time...

Now I have bought a new TV Philips 221T1 and it seems it do use RC6 codes (I have looked with a scope on a IR reciever)

I have tried the different codes for Philips TV listed in the manual without any luck (gues RC6 are not in the list in the remote)

After a bit of reading it seams that some new code need to be programmed to the remote

So I have build a LPT <=> JP1 cable and it seems to work with the IR.exe

When I read my remote I get Signature OUKAOUK1


I also found the OUKAOUK1 (Dreambox V3).rdf and I can see the Device Buttons

Now I need a little help to find the RC6 for the Philips device and how to add this into the IR program

Please advice


Thank you
Wiljan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wiljan, you are going to have to create an upgrade for your Phillips TV.

To do this you'll need to use

Remote Master (RM) a java application
or
KeyMaster (KM) an excel application

Many Philips TV's use RC-6 device 0.

Here is an RM file, Philips TV RC-6 that might help you get started.

1) open the file in RM,
2) change the remote to be the Dreambox,
3) assign the functions to the keys you want
4) copy and paste the device upgrade from RM to IR
5) upload the IR to the remote
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wiljan



Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003

Ok I have been playing a bit ... not sure I do it total correct

Looks like the code for the Philips should be 2010 and the Protocol for RC6 should be 0x00 0x58

The IR tx I need for the Philips are like this

This is how it looks from org philips remote (Works)
http://www.tech2net.dk/stuff/RC6_virker_power.jpg

This is how it looks from Dreambox remote (Does not work)
http://www.tech2net.dk/stuff/Dream_TV_button1_2010.jpg

So either I do something wrong or the Phililps are not RC6

Any commnets?


Wiljan[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Now I have bought a new TV Philips 221T1 and it seems it do use RC6 codes (I have looked with a scope on a IR reciever)


The one that is labeled works, doesn't look like what I know as a RC-6. It has more bumps than I'd expect with Rc-6 and the repeat style is wrong for rc-6. What makes you think that this is the working signal is Rc-6.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I finally figured out how to zoom in on the picture, and this sure looks like a NEC1 0.189 obc 1 EFC 185

If you use the lookup tool at the top of the page, you can find what the EFC's might be by looking at other TVs that use the NEC1 0, 189 command set.

If you need to read these from the scope picture, remember that the numbers are LSB

NEC1 looks like this
IRP notation: {38.4k,564}<1,-1|1,-3>(16,-8,D:8,S:8,F:8,~F:8,1,-78,(16,-4,1,-173)*)

After the big On and the Big Off, the next 9 bumps are the Device, the next 8 bumps are the subdevice, the next 8 bumps are the function and the last 8 bumps are the complement of the funciton.


The itty bitty bumps are 0, wider bumps are 1,
numbers are read from right to left, LSB.

From looking at the picture I decoded this picture
Quote:
This is how it looks from org philips remote (Works)
http://www.tech2net.dk/stuff/RC6_virker_power.jpg


Code:

device     subdevice  function
00000000   10111101   1000000   0111111

device= 0
subdev =189
function =1


We don't have any other Phillips upgrade that uses the NEC1 0,189 format, so it will really help others if you include all the functions from your original remote and post your upgrade in the files area.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wiljan



Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vickyg2003

I did some search after I saw the header was 9mS and you are absolutely right it's NEC-1 protocol

After a lot of scope grabs and some hex sodoku I have finaly got all buttons to work Smile

Works on Dreambox remote URC-39730
Signature: OUKAOUK1

Add support for Philips TV 221T1
(should work for 201T1 and 231T1 as well)

Only strange thing why Philips do use NEC-1 protocol... Surprised
(Are this tv made by Philips at all?)

Code: 2010 Protocol: 5A Fixed Data: 20 FF 42

Upgrade Code 0 = 17 BC (TV/2010) Philips_221T1 TV (RM v1.97)
5A 00 FE FE 7E C3 20 FF 42 7D 57 97 17 67 A7 27
47 87 07 CF F7 DF E7 C7 7F DD EF BF AF B5 2F 0F
6E AD 4F CD 4D 8D 0D 5F 3F A5 F5 B7
End


Wiljan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We need your upgrade FILE to be posted in the TV section so that other people can use it on any remote.

Be happy that the phillips TV isn't using the RC style codes. Those codes don't like to be placed in macros. With a NEC protocol key presses are much more reliable.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wiljan



Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 4:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

File uploaded under TV Philips 221T1

Wiljan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 4:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wiljan wrote:
File uploaded under TV Philips 221T1



Yes, but you gave me the output, not the KM or RM file. So nobody can use this without totally reverse engineering your document. What we need is the RDMU file that you saved from remote master. You've given us everything except the file we need.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wiljan



Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure you need that file, I forgot it in the zip file

I added it and uploaded it againg...
Now there are 2 with the same name.. can't how I delete the old?

Does it require a moderator to delete it?

Still a biginner ... 1.day yesterday Smile

Wiljan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7053
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wiljan wrote:
Sure you need that file, I forgot it in the zip file

I added it and uploaded it againg...
Now there are 2 with the same name.. can't how I delete the old?


You can delete or update your own files. If you navigate to the file, you'll see an x in the upper right corner. This x lets you delete the file

Quote:

Still a biginner ... 1.day yesterday Smile


And already a contributing member of the forum. Congratulations on your success!
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.


Last edited by vickyg2003 on Wed Dec 23, 2009 5:23 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wiljan



Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 5:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Old file deleted, thx for all the help

Wiljan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greenough1



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 659

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And here's the link to Wiljan's file:
TV Phillips 221T1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central