JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Yamaha HDMI discretes - Protocol Help??
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mvh_2000



Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I sure may be doing it wrong!! I'm by far no expert.

I have attached my 8910 file if you care to look at what I did?

I'm still trying to understand the previous 3 or 4 posts.

Let me keep reading@

Thanks for the help!!!
MVH
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=7544
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mvh_2000 wrote:
I have attached my 8910 file if you care to look at what I did?


You installed the upgrade as LDP-1976. So far as I understand, you did that correctly.

You created four keymoves with EFC numbers 084, 089, 214 and 219, none of which are correct EFC numbers for any of your signals.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mvh_2000



Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for all the questions!

Let me take one of my "learned codes" for an example: TV:5

Protocol = Gap-550-1687-32?
Device = 122
Sub-Device = 133
OBC = 44
Misc = 7A.85.53.2C

I'm not sure what to do with the 3 or 4 Hex number to get the correct EFC?
I know once I get the correct EFC I use it on the "Helper device" I installed.

Not sure if I convert the HEX value to decimal or subtact something in HEX then convert to decimal?

Thanks
MVH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7051
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The TIVO 0110 protocol isn't generating the type of signal we want. I'm thinking we need a new protocol for this. One that recalculates the 4th byte of the signal on the fly.

We'd start out with the 2 dev-1cmd scenerio, then change it to a 2 dev-2-cmd and recalculate the 4th byte on the fly.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I gave you the EFC numbers in my post just after noon (Eastern time) today.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=81499#81499

I gave them to you because I knew it would not be obvious how you could get them yourself.

Assuming you pressed the wrong button when learning signal number 3, those EFC numbers are 170, 039, 040, 101, 107, 102, 233, 228

mvh_2000 wrote:
Sorry for all the questions!


No problem. I'm happy to help you understand.

Quote:

Let me take one of my "learned codes" for an example: TV:5

Protocol = Gap-550-1687-32?
Device = 122
Sub-Device = 133
OBC = 44
Misc = 7A.85.53.2C


53 hex, which is 83 decimal, is the OBC number. You could also get that by computing 127 minus 44 as described in that other thread, using the wrong OBC number displayed by the decoder.

Then you need to translate from OBC to EFC.

The generic way to translate OBC to EFC is to start to create an upgrade using KM or RM using the correct executor (which in this case is Tivo Official), then type in each OBC number (which in KM requires that first switch the functions sheet to OBC mode) then read the EFC number that KM or RM computes for you.

In my earlier post, I found it easier to do all that than to describe it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003 wrote:
The TIVO 0110 protocol


I thought is was the 0111 protocol.

Quote:
isn't generating the type of signal we want.


Did you examine the executor or did you test it?

I didn't do either. I just trusted that other thread.

If you tested it, what four byte hex sequence did you get?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mvh_2000



Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried all 8 of the codes and none of them worked.

Anyway to see if the protocol is the problem or if I should be testing all 255 codes?

My guess is a protocol problem.

Thanks
MVH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7051
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

johnsfine wrote:
vickyg2003 wrote:
The TIVO 0110 protocol


I thought is was the 0111 protocol.


yep you are right 0111

Quote:
Quote:
isn't generating the type of signal we want.


Quote:

Did you examine the executor or did you test it?

I didn't do either. I just trusted that other thread.

If you tested it, what four byte hex sequence did you get?


I tested the signal with the widget.

Is that part in MISC the four byte hex sequence you are talking about it.

I really only know about matching the bumps in the picture.
This would probably be a lot easier if I spent some time learning hex, because the hex math kind of boggles my mind.

Code:

Device   122               
Subdevice   133               
unit   1               
                  
                  
GAP-580-1650-160-32?      122.133   177         7A.85.4A.B1
GAP-580-1650-160-32?      122.133   161         7A.85.59.A1
GAP-580-1650-160-32?      122.133   161         7A.85.50.A1
GAP-580-1650-160-32?      122.133   161         7A.85.53.A1
GAP-580-1650-160-32?      122.133   161         7A.85.56.A1
GAP-580-1650-160-32?      122.133   161         7A.85.59.A1
GAP-580-1650-160-32?      122.133   161         71.85.5C.A1

_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
johnsfine
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 4766
Location: Bedford, MA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003 wrote:

Is that part in MISC the four byte hex sequence you are talking about it.


Correct.

Your results there show the Tivo protocol is similar, but not close enough. We need a different executor.

Code:

7A.85.4A.B1
7A.85.59.A1
7A.85.50.A1
7A.85.53.A1
7A.85.56.A1
7A.85.59.A1
71.85.5C.A1


7A is the device. 85 is FF minus the device. Both correct.

I don't know where that 71 came from.

4A, 59, 50, 53, 59, and 5C are the OBC numbers. That part is good.

The last byte is part check byte and part constant. But it isn't the right parts. The top should be constant and the bottom should be check byte.

I also failed to take proper note of the fact that the OBC values were both above and below 80 but the error of "127 minus" rule in the gap decode didn't vary. That merans no more than 3 bits are constant. The Tivo executor has the bottom 4 bits constant. We need the top 1 to 3 bits constant.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7051
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mike try this file and see if it will work your GAP signals,
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=7545
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3246

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 3:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This link shows a few examples of (I think) what we are seeing here. Yamaha is sometimes using 16 bits of command data. Frequently the last two bytes add up to 7F, as we see with the 665 HDMI commands. But there are counter examples, and a protocol which just makes them add to 7F probably isn't sufficient for the general case.

Note that some of what Yamaha calls the Custom code-- which we call device--are also 16 bits. That's what I was referring to (obscurely) earlier in this thread. But it clearly isn't applicable to this problem with the RX-V665.

Here's a link to all of the RX-V665 Hex codes, in XLSX format, which means you need Excel 2007 or a converter add-in. I hand decoded a couple of the Input codes (AV1 and HDMI1)--byte 3 and 4 do add to 7F. Not surprisingly, IRtool decodes these as GAP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 7051
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 6:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, the PDF link disappears when I zoom in close enough to see it, and I don't have Excel 7 so I can't open the excel sheet. I went out and downloaded the converter, and now Excel won't open at all. I'm kind of at a loss here.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mvh_2000



Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg, THANKS!

They all worked!!

How did you get the EFC numbers, just like "johnsfine" posted?

"53 hex, which is 83 decimal, is the OBC number. You could also get that by computing 127 minus 44 as described in that other thread, using the wrong OBC number displayed by the decoder."

Then you need to translate from OBC to EFC.


Happy Thanksgiving!


Thanks again vicky~~
MVH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3246

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vicky,
Sorry about the problems with the converter. Here's a zip file with the standard and extended Pront Hex codes in standard Excel format.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=7548
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvh_2000



Joined: 27 Jun 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Vicky,

I figured out the HEX to OBC to EFC conversion.

Thanks everyone for the help
Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central