JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Comcast/Pace DC50X Cable Box
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3463
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:40 am    Post subject: Comcast/Pace DC50X Cable Box Reply with quote

A number of people on the Sling Community are asking for a remote for this box. Unfortunately I cannot do it directly as it comes up with the XMP protocol.

The IR files are at http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=6398 , be grateful for any help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19007
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this file for the CISCO RNG200
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=6232
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3463
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Sorry, forgot to mention we have all tried BIN files created using this file and it hasn't worked for anyone. Hence my request for a translation of the 'learnt' codes from the actual box.

Al
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19007
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If any of the people looking for this code have the Slingbox Pro-HD, ask them to try the built in C1982 code, as this code works the Cisco box and both boxes use the same codes.

If they have PL boxes, ask them to try this RM file which is ONLY for PL boxes:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=6236
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!


Last edited by The Robman on Fri May 22, 2009 11:29 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tennessee titan



Joined: 18 Nov 2008
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Isn't there another thread (greenough1) going on the is remote??
It refers to the remote by UEI number rather than the cable box, which is the pace box...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19007
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Correct, that's this thread, and he has confirmed that this is the correct code, however the Slingbox has problems with this protocol.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
greenough1



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 659

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I changed the title of the thread to reflect that the comcast DTA is a DC50X.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigDaddy



Joined: 02 Aug 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:00 pm    Post subject: Axum version not working Reply with quote

Hi Robman,


Axum version of this Bin file is not working for some reason. Kindly try and suggest.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=7217


Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Digital Larry



Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I even tried learning directly with the HAVA and it only picked up Channel Up, digits 3 and 5, and even those are not working reliably.

Any help here is vastly appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binky123
Expert


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 1292

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob posted a BIN file here and the RMDU file here.

In case those don't work, you may have to adjust some values in the 016C Protocol. This post and thread has some notes on what was done for the dreambox. Perhaps something like that will need to be done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Digital Larry



Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, that apparently works OK for the PL chip (I haven't confirmed this though) but we are using the next generation Axum chip and no love!

Thanks though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binky123
Expert


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 1292

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no info on the next gen Axum chip. I think Robman said the original Axum was compatible with PL bins.

Are you able to load BINs on this next gen Axum chip? If you are able to load BINs, are you able to learn the signals it sends out for the XMP protocol? Perhaps from this, we can tell if we need to make timing adjustments to the protocol(as was done for the dreambox).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigDaddy



Joined: 02 Aug 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:04 pm    Post subject: Remote Control buttons are irresponsive Reply with quote

Apparently it does load the Bin file on Axum Chipset. However the remote functions are irresponsive.


Regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Digital Larry



Joined: 28 Dec 2007
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rob has assisted with creating an Axum RDF which has worked so far for many protocols. However I'm not at all familiar with the XMP protocol and wonder why the heck all of a sudden these stupid boxes are using it! What happened to good old dependable NEC?!??!?! Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad

Oh, sorry.

As I recall Rob explained to me that Axum used a 2-byte protocol ID and typically there is just a 1-byte size difference between an Axum BIN and a PL BIN. Now I had also seen that Axum could be loaded with some PL BINs without generating an error, but I never saw one that worked. So I don't think that the fact that it could upload a PL BIN means anything - especially since it doesn't work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binky123
Expert


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 1292

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't seen any info on the next gen Axum II chip. It is possible they changed BIN formats and went with a 2-byte protocol id instead of a 1-byte. Some of the newer UEI remotes are also using 2-bytes. Since no one knows the BIN format, there is no use in creating a modified XMP/016C protocol. The XMP protocol is sensitive to the speed of the processor so for certain slingbox models, we had to adjust the timing in the protocol to make it work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central