JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Did I brick my remote (URC3680)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
120240VAC60HZ



Joined: 17 Mar 2007
Posts: 183
Location: Trumbull, Connecticut

                    
PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2024 8:02 pm    Post subject: Did I brick my remote (URC3680) Reply with quote

Well did I?

I was trying to add codes to my remote and I accidentally plugged my JP1 cable in backwards!

Now I get no signs of life no lights when buttons are pressed as well as no IR signals blasted either and RMIR does not see the remote at all I tried the "JP2Dumper" tool and when I try to use it I only get the "Bad address" or "106Sig block doesn't contain 6 digits"

So I must have corrupted something so is this a lost cause or is their a way to fix this?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 4522
Location: Cambridge, UK

                    
PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2024 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought only JP1.3 remotes were susceptible to being bricked by plugging the cable the wrong way round. Yours is JP1.4 but they share the same processor, S3F80, so it is possible you have done that, but I wouldn't give up on it yet. Have you tried completely rebooting it by removing the batteries, pressing any button to discharge any remaining capacitance, then reinserting the batteries?

I would expect plugging the cable the wrong way round would cause a hardware fault, not software corruption, so the fact that you get a response at at all is a good sign, I think.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
120240VAC60HZ



Joined: 17 Mar 2007
Posts: 183
Location: Trumbull, Connecticut

                    
PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2024 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So what (if anything) can I try next?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 4522
Location: Cambridge, UK

                    
PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2024 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using Windows? If so, you can test whether the remote is capable of entering communication mode.

To do this test, you need RealTerm and this document by Tommy Tyler: Identifying the Processor and Signature of an Unknown Flash Remote. It is an old document and not applicable in full to a JP1.4 remote, but the part about testing if a remote enters and exits communication mode does apply. That is up to the line "Try taking the remote into and out of serial comm mode several times to convince yourself it's really working."

This is a very basic test. If it fails, then I can't think of anything else, since at present the remote is completely unresponsive.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Top 7 Advantages of Playing Online Slots The Evolution of Remote Control