JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

looking for a new JP1 capable remote and cant see many
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ube_Astard



Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 185
Location: Stockport UK

                    
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2022 2:47 pm    Post subject: looking for a new JP1 capable remote and cant see many Reply with quote

As I have/had remotes that don't appear on the list (URC7955, 7962 and 7980) is anyone aware of if the URC3661 or 2981 are capable? Not sure why they discontinued the 7980 which apart from having no backlight is a decent remote
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HamburgerHelper1



Joined: 22 Feb 2014
Posts: 349

                    
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2022 4:28 pm    Post subject: looking for a new JP1 capable remote and cant see many Reply with quote

When i come across a remote I am unsure of I look to see if is already in RMIR By going to File>New>Remote Image.
There you will see the list of the current ones that already work in RMIR.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ube_Astard



Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 185
Location: Stockport UK

                    
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2022 4:43 pm    Post subject: Re: looking for a new JP1 capable remote and cant see many Reply with quote

HamburgerHelper1 wrote:
When i come across a remote I am unsure of I look to see if is already in RMIR By going to File>New>Remote Image.
There you will see the list of the current ones that already work in RMIR
Good shout, thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 20618
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2022 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Even if you come across a remote that is not yet supported, if it has a JP1 or USB port, we will add support for it.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jeajea



Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 283
Location: USA

                    
PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2022 12:06 pm    Post subject: Aailable Reply with quote

If you want one (or more) with full extender support I am using these.
8 devices - no backlight $13

https://www.ebay.com/itm/202671900342

8n devices, backlight "mini" extender $20

https://www.ebay.com/itm/174244907755
_________________
Jim Anderson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ube_Astard



Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 185
Location: Stockport UK

                    
PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2022 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We don't seem to have the range of remotes available in the UK as you do have in the states, and I would have to pay the same amount in shipping fees as the value of some of the remotes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blublight9



Joined: 24 Oct 2015
Posts: 2

                    
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2022 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you see the URC3661 in stock anywhere? Does it have a USB port?

I just bricked two OARUSB04G tonight and am looking for a new backlit remote. What a bummer, I loved the OARUSB04G, but they don't make it anymore. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ed



Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 253
Location: Ft. Worth, TX

                    
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2022 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blublight9 wrote:
Do you see the URC3661 in stock anywhere? Does it have a USB port?

I just bricked two OARUSB04G tonight and am looking for a new backlit remote. What a bummer, I loved the OARUSB04G, but they don't make it anymore. Sad


Are you sure it's bricked? I thought I had bricked mine a few months back and it turned out I had not. In my case, I uninstalled the extender, then re-installed it and I was back in business.

Did you do something in particular when you think you bricked the remote? In my case, I inadvertently disconnected the USB cable from the remote before RMIR was finished with its upload. At that point, the remote no longer responded to any button pushes.

Good luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blublight9



Joined: 24 Oct 2015
Posts: 2

                    
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2022 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ed wrote:
I thought I had bricked mine a few months back and it turned out I had not. In my case, I uninstalled the extender, then re-installed it and I was back in business.

Did you do something in particular when you think you bricked the remote?
Thanks for the advice! Both are now unbricked! Thanks so much!

I was trying to move a command from the receiver to the TV and it didn't like it for some reason. That's what did it for both remotes.

Again, thanks for your advice, it worked perfectly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ed



Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 253
Location: Ft. Worth, TX

                    
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2022 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blublight9 wrote:
Ed wrote:
I thought I had bricked mine a few months back and it turned out I had not. In my case, I uninstalled the extender, then re-installed it and I was back in business.

Did you do something in particular when you think you bricked the remote?
Thanks for the advice! Both are now unbricked! Thanks so much!

I was trying to move a command from the receiver to the TV and it didn't like it for some reason. That's what did it for both remotes.

Again, thanks for your advice, it worked perfectly!


Good to hear! You're welcome!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ube_Astard



Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 185
Location: Stockport UK

                    
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2022 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ed I have this issue with my URC 7980 and did create a post to see if anyone could suggest what I can do to resolve it but had no response. What would you suggest to try to resolve it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ed



Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 253
Location: Ft. Worth, TX

                    
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2022 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ube_Astard wrote:
Ed I have this issue with my URC 7980 and did create a post to see if anyone could suggest what I can do to resolve it but had no response. What would you suggest to try to resolve it?


Hello,

I don't have a 7980 so I'm afraid I don't have any suggestions to offer. There is no extender for that remote (and unlikely to ever be one), so the approach I used for he OARUSB04G doesn't apply either.

@mathdon has done a lot of work with the 7980 and similar remotes, so he may have some helpful insights.

Good luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ube_Astard



Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 185
Location: Stockport UK

                    
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2022 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ed wrote:
Ube_Astard wrote:
Ed I have this issue with my URC 7980 and did create a post to see if anyone could suggest what I can do to resolve it but had no response. What would you suggest to try to resolve it?


Hello,

I don't have a 7980 so I'm afraid I don't have any suggestions to offer. There is no extender for that remote (and unlikely to ever be one), so the approach I used for he OARUSB04G doesn't apply either.

@mathdon has done a lot of work with the 7980 and similar remotes, so he may have some helpful insights.

Good luck!


Many thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 4141
Location: Cambridge, UK

                    
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2022 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ed wrote:
@mathdon has done a lot of work with the 7980 and similar remotes, so he may have some helpful insights.

I have made some suggestions in Ube's other thread.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sydyen



Joined: 16 Oct 2008
Posts: 20

                    
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2022 4:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The title is what grabbed me, because I have a similar lament.

The RS 15-1994 has been my preferred remote for about 25 years, because it has good layout, learning. and 43 keys which can be 'shifted'. I have never needed more than half the shifts possible, and have been keeping my eye out for a more recent model remote which has over 50 buttons and learning capability but without success.

UE's OCAP-5 M1056F looked like a possibility because it has >50 buttons but it has no learning capabilities.

Have there been any high button count JP1 remotes with learning capability released in recent years?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Top 7 Advantages of Playing Online Slots The Evolution of Remote Control