JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes

FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

URC-7557 Support

Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
quartermain

PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2019 7:16 am    Post subject: URC-7557 Support Reply with quote

I have been using the URC-7555 and 7556 remotes for many years and they suit me perfectly. I found out a while back that there was also a URC-7557 out and bought one for a backup. It appears to be exactly the same as the 7556 bar the model number on the battery cover sticker. I uploaded my current 7556 configuration and it seemed to work fine. There is no available RDF.

A couple of days ago my last remaining 7556 died suddenly - no response to any buttons. It was late so I dug out the 7557 to use for the rest of the evening. Using it in earnest quickly identified an issue - the mute button doesn't work - no response from sound bar and no device button flash. I can get by with Vol+ and Vol- but it's not ideal.

Today I look again. I try uploading the last saved .rmir to the 7556 and it bursts back into life, phew. But it's not going to last forever so I either need to fix the mute on the 7557 or find another remote to use. I have a 6440 but I can't get on with it.

Given that the 7555, 7556 and 7557 have the same signature, is it possible to make an RDF for the 7557 by copying the one for the 7556 then somehow tweak it so the mute function works?

I have .rmir dumps from both the remotes after a factory reset however they are very different in size so I suspect one wasn't really properly reset.
quartermain

PostPosted: Sun Dec 08, 2019 8:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote