JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

where can I get an ftdi chip jp1.x cable?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chuliu



Joined: 04 Dec 2010
Posts: 388
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2019 2:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, all.
I would like to report that the cable I ordered off this ebay seller works like a charm and my old remotes can now talk to my pc correctly on windows 10.

here is a picture
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4002

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2019 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's great news. Does it also have red/green LEDs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chuliu



Joined: 04 Dec 2010
Posts: 388
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2019 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
That's great news. Does it also have red/green LEDs?



Do you mean when I upload to rmir if there are red/green leds flashing? If so, yes.


I also noticed the other day that there is a com port connector on my intel i7 z370-a pro mainboard. I bought this and my old jp1 to com port cable is working again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19068
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
I just found the following PL2303HXD cable on ebay which looks like it might work. It comes with a 1*6 plug, which would need to be replaced with a 2*3 plug, but it's only $3.46 shipped (from China).

https://www.ebay.com/itm/362674416441

I finally got the Dupont heads that I ordered so I was able to test this cable and I can confirm that it works. While that particular listing isn't valid anymore, you can search for PL2303HXD on ebay to find several other listings. Many of them are combo listings where you have to select which cable you want, so be sure to select PL2303HXD. This cable has a pink casing and doesn't have the flashing LEDs that were on the chip_partner cables. Prices start from about $3 and up, shipped.

This cable does come with a 1*6 connector, which you need to pop off and replace with a 2*3 connector.

Here's a sample listing:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/264337020363

I also had another cable to test that I had ordered ages ago. This cable was a FT232RL Arduino Cable and it DIDN'T work.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/401090868113
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central