JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

URC-7980 & Panasonic Plasma

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
zdzislaw22



Joined: 06 May 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 1:39 pm    Post subject: URC-7980 & Panasonic Plasma Reply with quote

Hello all,

I recently bought URC-7980 remote and trying to configure it to work with Panasonic Plasma TV which requires long press of power button. Because of this I cannot properly build the macro to turn TV on.

I read several threads and found some configurations with macro friendly custom executors, but unfortunately they were built for different processor.

I'm wondering if it would be possible to built such custom executor for urc-7980 remote?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19077
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like the URC-7980 uses the TI2541 processor, so I don't know if that's possible.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
zdzislaw22



Joined: 06 May 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there any chance to achive expected result (long power press) different way?
I'm thinking about modification of learned signal.

Below it's what I get pressing power button for long time on the original remote. I think URC learned shortest possible sentence, because it still acts as short press.
Quote:

0000 0070 0000 0032 0080 0041 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0AAD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 973

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 4:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, this will get somewhat hairy, but at your request, here but we go.

The Pronto Hex form in general consists of an starting sequence (here empty), and a repeat sequence, that can be sent as many times the user desires. So that is why the given signal only sends "as short".

It is possible to convert the given signal to a "long" signal in that you have an intro sequence consisting of a number of copiers, and then (probably) no repeat sequence.

You can do this manually. For this set the forth number to "0000" and the third number to the length of the new intro sequence, as a four-digit hexadecimal number. (See my explanation of the Pronto format if necessary.)

You can also use the command line program IrpTransmogrifier to generate. For this, you have to know that the signal uses the panasonic protocol, with parameters D=128,F=61,S=0. The command for generating 3 signal goes like this.

Code:

$ irptransmogrifier render --count 3 --pronto -n  "{D=128,F=61,S=0}"  panasonic
0000 0070 0096 0000 0080 0040 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0ACD 0080 0040 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0ACD 0080 0040 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0ACD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
zdzislaw22



Joined: 06 May 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a million for the tip.

When I put above data into Learned signal definition field and press Apply, I get error message saying "Malformed learned signal: duration list extends beyonds hex data"

I also tried to build it from scratch and found that when I set 2 repeats, all works, 3 repeats results in above error.

So, it looks like there is a limitation either in the remote or RMIR.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dnick



Joined: 22 Jul 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will the discrete ON do what you want instead of using the long press?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19077
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zdzislaw22 wrote:
Thanks a million for the tip.

When I put above data into Learned signal definition field and press Apply, I get error message saying "Malformed learned signal: duration list extends beyonds hex data"

I also tried to build it from scratch and found that when I set 2 repeats, all works, 3 repeats results in above error.

So, it looks like there is a limitation either in the remote or RMIR.

I just checked into this and there is indeed a limitation in the remote software itself. There is a byte where you specify how many bits are in the data string where the MSB is a flag that states where it should repeat or not, which effectively limits you to 127 bits of data. The Panasonic signal uses 50 bits of data, so you can get away with 2 repeats (ie, 100 bits) but not 3 repeats (ie, 150 bits). The Pronto format doesn't have any such limitation.

You could try the following, which sends 2 repeats once, then 2 more repeats while the button is held. I don't remember if you'll get at least one of the held repeats in a macro.

0000 0070 0064 0064
0080 0040 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0ACD
0080 0040 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0ACD
0080 0040 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0ACD
0080 0040 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0ACD
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
zdzislaw22



Joined: 06 May 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 3:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Rob for help,

It almost works. Outcome of my tests:
- pressing a button (with a code Rob provided in previous post assigned) once doesn't turn TV on
- pressing it quickly twice wakes TV up. It doesn't work in a macro due to delay between commands. Is there any way to manipulate/remove this delay from the macro?
- pressing standard wpoer button quickly twice (or more times) doesn't turn TV on

I see, new command works better than standard one. I think having signals trippled should work, but it's a remote limitation. Sad

p.s. I tried to download Texas Instruments TI 254x processor datasheet but the link doesn't work to me.

EDIT: I've found THIS topic which is similar to mine. The solution 3FG presented in second post from bottom looks quite simple, but it's for MAXQ610.

EDI2: I did the same for TI in RMPB and POWER works perfectly in macro. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19077
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zdzislaw22 wrote:
EDIT: I've found THIS topic which is similar to mine. The solution 3FG presented in second post from bottom looks quite simple, but it's for MAXQ610.

EDI2: I did the same for TI in RMPB and POWER works perfectly in macro. Smile

Congrats, I take it you know how to write TI code? Please post details

I fixed the file link for the TI data sheet, but here's another link for it too:
http://www.ti.com/lit/ug/swru191d/swru191d.pdf
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
zdzislaw22



Joined: 06 May 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Haha,
I wish, but truth is more trivial. It was only lucky guess. Wink

I realized that protocols definition for MAXQ610 and TI2541 are very similar. So, I did exactly the same what 3FG have written in thread mentioned above and I changed "42 54 06 71" to "43 54 61 08 71" for TI2541 protocol.

After change protocol looks like:
Quote:
01 11 01 21 51 0E 10 00 10 00 10 00 30 00 9D 0A 80 00 40 00 00 80 08 07 08 05 06 07 08 08 07 43 54 06 08 71 72 73 74 75 76


Because RMPB properly analyzed it
Quote:
...
PF byte interpretation:
Use normal lead-in on all frames
One-ON precedes lead-out
Use normal lead-out as gap time
Send 8 mandatory repeats
All buttons repeat on held keypress
..


I gave it a try and works. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central