JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

MCE keyboard mouse functions (was: Inteset question?)
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bevhoward



Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have gotta go find an ascii chart and search for sequential relationships between the codes ;-)

Beverly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bevhoward



Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm getting gun shy about asking dumb questions, but, I gotta...

I have looked but been unable to find a good RM reference for working with learned signals.

I captured what I think is a good clean copy of a <space> from a different IR USB device.

However, after an hour or so in the RMIR/learnedcommands/edit box, I'm just as lost as ever.

Can someone point me to related reference documents?

Here's what I captured;
Code:
UEI Learned
00 D0 03 00 82 03 99 00 82 01 8C 00 82 28 8A 91 00 01 11 01 00 01 01 11 20

Proto
0000 006C 0000 0011 000A 0047 000A 0047 000A 0047 000A 001E 000A 001E 000A 001E 000A 0047 000A 001E 000A 0047 000A 0047 000A 0047 000A 001E 000A 0047 000A 001E 000A 001E 000A 001E 000A 031D

protocol   dev  obc hex efc
Mitsubishi  71   23  17 122

sent repeatedly
+260 -1841; +260 -1841; +260 -1841; +260 -791; +260 -791; +260 -791; +260 -1841; +260 -791; +260 -1841; +260 -1841; +260 -1841; +260 -791; +260 -1841; +260 -791; +260 -791; +260 -791; +260 -20755;


Thanks in advance,
Beverly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4002

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Decoding all those formats is a huge subject. Let's save that for later.

There's no shame is using that one learned command as is. No need to decode or add it to an upgrade since we've already done that, just for a different remote.

In any case, that protocol looks like what we see in those cheap Chinavision "MCE" dongles that aren't really MCE. If you actually have one of those, the codes and protocol are completely different than MCE, and we have upgrades here:

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=94739#94739

A pretty complete MCE keycode reference is here:
https://kodi.wiki/view/Using_a_Microsoft_remote_control_in_Windows

I know we may come off as abrupt sometimes mainly because I try to minimize my typing. But we don't mind helping you at all, Bev. Keep the questions coming. The answers benefit everybody.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bevhoward



Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
abrupt


It's not that... I feel that I should be able to learn (relearn) this stuff by paying attention, but, absurd things, such as missing the remote's signature as part of the RMIR window title, keep frustrating me.

Quote:
Decoding all those formats is a huge subject. Let's save that for later.

I agree with that

...but I am further behind that you think ;-)

I actually want to understand how to take a learned command such as the above example, and preserve it so that I can add it as a learned command to an existing RMIR file.

In rmir's learned command tab, there are options such as edit, clone, copy, etc that suggest that saving a learned command is possible for later inclusion in a complex layout.

But, at the moment, the only option that I can use to complement an existing file is to upload an rmir file to the remote, then, relearn the command using the remote.

Thanks for your support. As posted previously, my ability to resume with JP1 is far more important to me that anyone probably realizes. That, plus the fact that it provides my brain with considerable exercise.

Beverly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19069
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bevhoward wrote:
Quote:
It's quite possible that some of those missing OBCs are additional functions such as SPACE.

I've already started adding some of the missing OBC's and testing them... so far, I've only seen punctuation, but I will continue tomorrow.

The way to do it is to create several upgrades which only have the OBCs included from the missing ranges. Then load them up to the remote, put one on each device button perhaps, then try all the buttons to see if any of them do anything. If any of the buttons get a response, refer back to the upgrade being tested so you can make a note of which OBC was assigned to the button.

bevhoward wrote:
I actually want to understand how to take a learned command such as the above example, and preserve it so that I can add it as a learned command to an existing RMIR file.

In rmir's learned command tab, there are options such as edit, clone, copy, etc that suggest that saving a learned command is possible for later inclusion in a complex layout.

I posted how to do that the other day, I'll find the post and re-post it here.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19069
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Found it, here it is...
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=135184&highlight=#135184

The Robman wrote:
bevhoward wrote:
In the short term (I understand that keymoves are the best option) is it possible to copy "learned" keys from an uploaded rmir file to a saved rmir file?

Absolutely. Open the RMIR file that has the learned signals in it (or just download from the remote), then ...
1. Go to the Learned tab
2. Click on the learned signal in question
3. Click EDIT
4. Ensure that the UEI Learned data format is selection
5. "Copy" the data (eg, 00 D4 05 08 DA 08 E6 01 09 00 F3 01 09 02 E4 01 09 08 E0 01 09 71 D6 A7 01 11 11 21 11 11 11 11 13 22 21 12 11 22 11 21 22 11 22 40)
6. Now open the good RMIR file and go to the Learned tab
7. Click NEW
8. Click the SHOW ADVANCED DETAILS button in the top right corner (if it says HIDE ADVANCED DETAILS, leave it alone, you're good)
9. Ensure that the UEI Learned data format is selection
10. "Paste" the data (eg, 00 D4 05 08 DA 08 E6 01 09 00 F3 01 09 02 E4 01 09 08 E0 01 09 71 D6 A7 01 11 11 21 11 11 11 11 13 22 21 12 11 22 11 21 22 11 22 40)
11. Select a Device and Key
12. Click OK

Now, the learned signals that you posted earlier used the Samsung36 protocol with a device code of 32 and a sub-device code of 0. The only setup code that I know of that matches is VIDEO/1635 which is in the URC-8305, URC-8308, URC-8350 and URC-7950 remotes. For other remotes you would need a helper upgrade, like this...

01 B5 00 01 04 00 00

(To add this, go to Devices tab, click New, click Import Raw, and past into Upgrade Code box).

_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bevhoward



Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for all of that.

I now remember your post, but it was wrapped up in too much else going on at the same time.

Beverly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bevhoward



Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I've already started adding some of the missing OBC's and testing them... so far, I've only seen punctuation

I think I tested all of the missing OBC's in the MCE Remote v2 definitions up to OBC 100

May have missed a couple (very confusing to do the edits for me) and only found one functional key that was missing from the original file.

OBC 42 = Sleep (puts the windows computer into sleep mode)

Beverly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bevhoward



Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One additional note on the Microsoft MCE Remotes.

These remotes show extended function labels on the number pad. For example, under the "2" key is the label "ABC" as on a telephone keypad.

After extensive searches yesterday, I finally determined that the remote itself cannot generate any additional characters.

I finally found a manual for one of the MCE remotes that explained that to generate these additional characters depends on the software receiving the additional keypress actions on the computer.

Nice night last night. My wife and I watched several video's on Netflix, Prime and Google Play and discovered that knowing the alternative commands that I posted yesterday made a big difference in managing the videos.

Beverly Howard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19069
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bevhoward wrote:
Quote:
I've already started adding some of the missing OBC's and testing them... so far, I've only seen punctuation

I think I tested all of the missing OBC's in the MCE Remote v2 definitions up to OBC 100

May have missed a couple (very confusing to do the edits for me) and only found one functional key that was missing from the original file.

OBC 42 = Sleep (puts the windows computer into sleep mode)

Beverly

Did you focus on OBCs in the range 39-69, 78-127 and above 128?

All the known OBCs are all in the ranges 0-38, 70-77 and 128.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19069
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bevhoward wrote:
One additional note on the Microsoft MCE Remotes.

These remotes show extended function labels on the number pad. For example, under the "2" key is the label "ABC" as on a telephone keypad.

After extensive searches yesterday, I finally determined that the remote itself cannot generate any additional characters.

I finally found a manual for one of the MCE remotes that explained that to generate these additional characters depends on the software receiving the additional keypress actions on the computer.

Nice night last night. My wife and I watched several video's on Netflix, Prime and Google Play and discovered that knowing the alternative commands that I posted yesterday made a big difference in managing the videos.

Beverly Howard

I really like that feature and actually bought a URC-2025 remote specially because it has letters below the number buttons. Previously, I used to grab the house phone so I could tell which numbers to press. In my case, this is for AT&T's u-Verse DVR.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bevhoward



Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Did you focus on OBCs in the range 39-69, 78-127 and above 128?

Exactly, but I did not go above 127 since only one of the 79 commands yielded any response I didn't have much hope.

Several of the higher value commands yielded a "0" which strongly suggested that the firmware contained default values and had not been touched by the programmers.
Quote:
labels

Somewhere I have an html file that I used to print some telephone reference cards for use back in the day of phone pad texting. If I find it, I'll post it.

Beverly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central