JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Working backwards with a device ugrade???

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
RoyGBiv



Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 81

PostPosted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 1:04 pm    Post subject: Working backwards with a device ugrade??? Reply with quote

I have been using KM for some time, though I don't do a lot of programming. I am trying to help my brother out. He has an 8910, and Robman was kind enough to come up with this device upgrade for a Pioneer DVD recorder for an 8910 remote.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=11250

Upgrade Code 0 = 22 77 (DVD/0631) Pioneer DVD/0631 (KM v9.17)
7E 00 BE FE FE 0D 2A CB 0A AB FA 01 7A 01 BA 01
3A 01 DA 01 5A 01 9A 01 1A 01 EA 01 6A 01 9B 00
1B 00 C2 01 BB 00 3B 00 5B 00 DB 00 FB 00 EB 00
62 01 B0 01 30 01 39 01 D9 01 D0 01 08 01 C9 03
38 01 D8 01 C3 03 9B 00 1B 00
End

I would like to try it first with an 8810 remote.

How do I do this? That is, I am familiar with the concept of changing the remote in KM to the one I am using, and this will change the device upgrade for something already loaded into KM.

How do I take a device upgrade and put it in KM so I can play around with it and change the remote? I can't simply cut and paste it into the device upgrade area, can I?

Thanks for the help for what is probably an easy thing to figure out.

SMK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ElizabethD
Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 2342

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suspect that Rob also made a protocol that goes with the upgrade since if it were just buttons assignments he probably wouldn't bother. Pure speculation on my part, of course Smile
So in KM, still using the 8910 version, select the protocol section (invisible, white on white), copy to clipboard, and then paste into the 8810 setup. Make sure "UPGRADE" and "END" lines get included.
And yes, change the buttons assignments from 8910 to 8810 which will modify the upgrade section you posted.
_________________
Liz
Tweeking 8910, HTPro/9811, C7-7800, 6131o, 6131n, AtlasOCAP-1056B01, RCA-RCRP05B and enjoying the ride Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ElizabethD
Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 2342

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since I was partly wrong, I decided to correct my ways and tried to make a KM file for you. Reversing is NOT simple Sad
Few strange things in there.
I put this upgrade into IR for 8910 remote.
IR reports 5-digit EFCs and when I filled hex numbers into KM, 3-digit EFCs are in hex. I don't think 8910 uses 5-digit efc.

Then I had to manufacture devices on the Setup sheet to match Rob's fixed data. Used few files from the file section to see what might match.

With all that - who knows if it'll work, but try in your 8910.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=7200
_________________
Liz
Tweeking 8910, HTPro/9811, C7-7800, 6131o, 6131n, AtlasOCAP-1056B01, RCA-RCRP05B and enjoying the ride Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3289

PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried it in RM, and it seems to work OK. You use Advanced/Import Raw Upgrade, and paste in the hex bytes. Don't paste in the line beginning "upgrade code", or the "end" line. Make sure that you have 8910 selected as the remote. If you've done it right, the OK button will be active. No upgrade is required. Next, tell RM the setup code (0631) and the device type (2 or DVD). Then switch the remote type to 8810. Now when you look at the output tab, you'll see that the 8810 needs several keymoves to implement the upgrade. But you should be able to paste this into IR. Or, you may want to delete those functions that require a keymove.

RM claims this is Pioneer MIX. with devices 171 and 175, with the oddly named OBC cmds of 44 and 42
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RoyGBiv



Joined: 20 Sep 2003
Posts: 81

PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for all the help. I will try the suggestions. The only issue is that the DVD recorder is not mine, and I'll have to mail the remote to my brother to see if it works.

Thanks again!

SMK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ElizabethD
Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 2342

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2009 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

3FG wrote:
I tried it in RM, and it seems to work OK. You use Advanced/Import Raw Upgrade, and paste in the hex bytes. Don't paste in the line beginning "upgrade code", or the "end" line.

This sounds to me like like soooooo much simpler than what I did.
Questions:
1. Re: "and it seems to work OK" does "it" refer to the quoted Rob's upgrade?
2. Re: "use Advanced/Import Raw Upgrade, and paste in the hex bytes" I just tried it. Exactly like you said, using Rob's upgrade code. The "OK" button is shaded out and I can't go anywhere from there. Can you give step-by-step for dummies, please?

I'm assuming of course that the function sheet will fill with the function names corresponding to the buttons names from that upgrade (using the same names of the functions as the buttons listed in the Rob's upgrade code), or am I dreaming?
_________________
Liz
Tweeking 8910, HTPro/9811, C7-7800, 6131o, 6131n, AtlasOCAP-1056B01, RCA-RCRP05B and enjoying the ride Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3289

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2009 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it worked using Rob's upgrade as quoted in the first post in this thread. Yields a large table of functions. Here's a few lines:
Code:

8      093   171     44   175   168   EA 01
9      097   171     44   175   169   6A 01
CH+    214   none   none   171   38   9B 00
CH-    218   none   none   171   39   1B 00
Power  028   171     44   175   188   C2 01
Prev   215   none   none   171   34   BB 00


The OK button will be greyed out if a protocol is required, until you also paste in the protocol. However, this particular upgrade doesn't need an added protocol. The most likely cause of a greyed out OK button is to have not selected URC-8910 as the remote. In fact, if you tell it (as I often do Very Happy ) that the remote is a Comcast, RM will interpret the opening bytes as calling for protocol 7E 00! I don't know how closely the remote type needs to match, but at least it ought to be in the same JP1.x class. Of course, the results will be more useful if the RDF used by RM to interpret the upgrade is the same as the one used to make it.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ElizabethD
Advanced Member


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 2342

PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is brilliant of RM to include to include the raw imports Smile
I probably didn't select, but of course, meant to the 8910 remote.
Yes it works as you described. And if the remote is wrong initially, you can even correct it in the Advanced window.
_________________
Liz
Tweeking 8910, HTPro/9811, C7-7800, 6131o, 6131n, AtlasOCAP-1056B01, RCA-RCRP05B and enjoying the ride Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central