JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

I'm finding myself very confused here...?
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18838
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well let's see, there are only 4 major device types (TV, VCR, CBL and Audio), all the other device types are subsets of those, and the UEI numbering scheme only allows for setup code numbers up to 2047, so the maximum number of active setup codes is 8,188. I say "active" because they often retire old codes and replace them with new ones.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bevhoward



Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

>> I'll provide some more detailed feedback for you soon. <<

look forward to it.

>> But, I digress... <<

email me when you are in austin, especially if you like pottery... studio's always open by appointment and I enjoy any technical conversation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark Pierson
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3009
Location: Connecticut, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
so the maximum number of active setup codes is 8,188.
Better sharpen your pencil there Rob (too much Sudoku perhaps?). Surprised

The maximum would be 2048 * 4 = 8192! Wink
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
classicsat



Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 279

PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

johnsfine wrote:
marc_paolo1 wrote:
why would I want to change a protocol?


In some cases there is more than one protocol choice in KM or RM that can generate the same set of signals. Typically those differ in what kind of additional signals could be combined into the same upgrade (varying subdevice etc.).


A simple example is the NEC codes, one just repeats the entire code, the other sends the code once and sends a repeat code.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18838
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, I think John was thinking of cases where there might be combo versions of a protocol available in addition to the standard version (eg, Panasonic, Sony, etc). These are cases where the signals created are exactly the same, even though the selected protocol is different.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central