JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

RMIR v3.0 Major new release!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21465
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2024 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Graham, I can confirm that the NEC options works as described.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 1429
Location: Munich, Germany

                    
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2024 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Graham, I am really happy that I managed to "sell" JCommander to you. Wink

I have implemented a "-help" command, see patch below. One of the advantages of JCommander (or similar libraries) is that you get a usage message for free -- guaranteed to stay up-to-date. (It also frees you from the duty of documenting the options Cool )

Assuming that "rmir" is a suitable wrapper to the jar (or similar), you can now do

Code:

$ rmir -help
Usage: rmir [options] [file]
  Options:
    -admin
      Open in administrator mode
      Default: false
    -errors
      Set errors file
    -help, -?
      Display help message
      Default: false
    -home
      Set home directory
    -ir
      Open as RMIR
      Default: false
    -pb
      Open as RMPB
      Default: false
    -properties
      Set properties file
    -readOnly
      Test if installation folder is read-only
      Default: false
    -rm
      Open as RMDU
      Default: false
    -scaling
      Set scaling of the GUI. Accepted values and their semantics depend on
      the JVM.
    -version
      Display version information
      Default: false



Here follows the patch (against version 2057). I am happy check in if you so desire.
Code:

Index: src/main/java/com/hifiremote/jp1/RemoteMaster.java
===================================================================
--- src/main/java/com/hifiremote/jp1/RemoteMaster.java  (revision 2057)
+++ src/main/java/com/hifiremote/jp1/RemoteMaster.java  (working copy)
@@ -30,6 +30,9 @@
 
   public final static class CommandLineArgs
   {
+    @Parameter(names = { "-help", "-?" }, description = "Display help message")
+    private boolean helpRequested = false;
+
     @Parameter(names = { "-version" }, description = "Display version information")
     private boolean versionRequested = false;
 
@@ -61,7 +64,7 @@
         description = "Set scaling of the GUI. Accepted values and their semantics depend on the JVM." )
     private String scaling = null;
 
-    @Parameter( description = "Name of file to open" )
+    @Parameter( description = "[file]", required = false )
     public String fileName = null;
 
   }
@@ -189,6 +192,7 @@
 
     argumentParser = new JCommander( commandLineArgs );
     argumentParser.setAllowAbbreviatedOptions( true );
+    argumentParser.setProgramName("rmir");
 
     try
     {
@@ -200,6 +204,12 @@
       return;
     }
 
+    if ( commandLineArgs.helpRequested )
+    {
+      argumentParser.usage();
+      return;
+    }
+
     if ( commandLineArgs.versionRequested )
     {
       System.out.println( getFullVersion() );

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 4574
Location: Cambridge, UK

                    
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2024 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Bengt. I wanted to create a help command and knew I had seen something about a usage message, but couldn't quite work out how to do it. So yes, please check it in. Version 2057 is up to date, so it won't cause any problems.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 1429
Location: Munich, Germany

                    
PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2024 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Done. I was wondering as to why there was no help-command, but you did address that in your last post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
tajvdz



Joined: 09 Feb 2020
Posts: 71

                    
PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2024 5:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I saw that there is this new version. I used an older version a few years ago but I need it again soon.

The old shortcuts didn't work anymore because it couldn't find the file. After I used the old installation file again it worked again. But I saw that there is a much more newer version.

I saw that I have Java 8.0 installed. Is it best to update it to the most recent version first?

What I did with the installation of this new version was unzip the downloaded file to a place on my pc where I want to have it. After that I started the setup. I got a messsage about scaling. I set it to the example 1.5. Is this the size of the window or what? And what is the best value? The shortcuts worked and I got a new look when I started RMIR. I noticed that I didn't get a shortcut named Remotemaster anymore. Is that one gone and integrated in the RMIR now? The shortcut is still in the start menu from the old version but I think I can delete it? The other shortcuts were replaced by the new one.
I think I can also delete the folder of the old version or not and put the data in the new folder.
Is it still possible to use the old data or is it better to start all over again and download it from my Remote first? Will that work right away? I can remember that I had to fix something in the registry laat time.

By the way I didn't look if it is possible to remove the programm in the windows settings. Otherwise it is better to do that? And after that update java first if necessary and after that install the new version and put the old data back on.it's place?

I hope I can get some advice to get everything up and running again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 1429
Location: Munich, Germany

                    
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2024 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tajvdz wrote:

I saw that I have Java 8.0 installed. Is it best to update it to the most recent version first?

RMIR supports Java 8 and later. The only difference is how scaling is handled, AFAIK. No need to update, strictly speaking.

tajvdz wrote:
I got a messsage about scaling. I set it to the example 1.5. Is this the size of the window or what? And what is the best value?

Just ignore it, at least for now. Use forum seach if you want more info.


tajvdz wrote:

Is it still possible to use the old data or is it better to start all over again and download it from my Remote first?

You use the old rmir/rmdu files. Otherwise you will loose information, for example the function names.

tajvdz wrote:

By the way I didn't look if it is possible to remove the programm in the windows settings.

There is no uninstall -- just delete the files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
tajvdz



Joined: 09 Feb 2020
Posts: 71

                    
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2024 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Barf wrote:
tajvdz wrote:

I saw that I have Java 8.0 installed. Is it best to update it to the most recent version first?

RMIR supports Java 8 and later. The only difference is how scaling is handled, AFAIK. No need to update, strictly speaking.

tajvdz wrote:
I got a messsage about scaling. I set it to the example 1.5. Is this the size of the window or what? And what is the best value?

Just ignore it, at least for now. Use forum seach if you want more info.


tajvdz wrote:

Is it still possible to use the old data or is it better to start all over again and download it from my Remote first?

You use the old rmir/rmdu files. Otherwise you will loose information, for example the function names.

tajvdz wrote:

By the way I didn't look if it is possible to remove the programm in the windows settings.

There is no uninstall -- just delete the files.


Thank you for answering almost all my questions.
There is only one thing unanswered and that is this:
I noticed that I didn't get a shortcut named Remotemaster anymore. Is that one gone and integrated in the RMIR now? The shortcut is still in the start menu from the old version but I think I can delete it? The other shortcuts were replaced by the new one.

About Java. Do I have to use the Rmir setup again if I decide to update Java?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21465
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2024 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once you've unzipped RM there is a file in the folder called setup.vbs, run that to create the shortcuts, then move them to your desktop if you prefer.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tajvdz



Joined: 09 Feb 2020
Posts: 71

                    
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2024 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
Once you've unzipped RM there is a file in the folder called setup.vbs, run that to create the shortcuts, then move them to your desktop if you prefer.

Yes I know that. But why isn't there a shortcut with the name Remotemaster anymore?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 4574
Location: Cambridge, UK

                    
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2024 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tajvdz wrote:
Yes I know that. But why isn't there a shortcut with the name Remotemaster anymore?

It is the one now called RMDU (RM Device Upgrade). I renamed it as I found using the name RemoteMaster (or the abbreviation RM) for both the overall program and one of the three apps in it to be confusing. Historically RMDU was the one and only Java app, with the name RemoteMaster. RMIR was added next, RMPB is a recent addition. After running Setup.vbs you should now have three shortcuts called RMIR, RMDU and RMPB. RMIR is now considered to be the main app, RMDU is a Device Upgrade editor and RMPB, which may be new since you were last using RMIR, is a Protocol Editor. I hope that answers your question.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21465
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2024 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tajvdz wrote:
The Robman wrote:
Once you've unzipped RM there is a file in the folder called setup.vbs, run that to create the shortcuts, then move them to your desktop if you prefer.

Yes I know that. But why isn't there a shortcut with the name Remotemaster anymore?

You're free to rename it, which is what I do. The upgrade program was called RM and the files were called RMDU, that I can't call the program itself RMDU, so I rename it.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 1429
Location: Munich, Germany

                    
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2024 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tajvdz wrote:
About Java. Do I have to use the Rmir setup again if I decide to update Java?

No (normally). That will save you one double-click Wink . Note that Help -> About in RMIR will, among other things, list the actually invoked JVM under "System Properties".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 4574
Location: Cambridge, UK

                    
PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2024 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Edit: Updated to refer to v3.1.2.

I have now released RMIR v3.1.2. It fixes a major bug in v3.1.1 and is a significant update of RMIR v3.0.15 which otherwise is the last official release and which involved restructuring of the program code. This release has a command line help facility. If entered from the installation folder, the command line
Code:
java -jar RemoteMaster.jar -help
will list the command options available, including those for opening each of the three apps RMIR, RMDU and RMPB and for setting the text scaling factor. These provide an alternative to the shortcuts created by the setup programs Setup.vbs for Windows and setup.sh for Linux, with the advantage that they work for all supported OS.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Software All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11
Page 11 of 11

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Top 7 Advantages of Playing Online Slots The Evolution of Remote Control