JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Need Pronto Hex (or IR) Codes for Denon Volume Up/Down 1db
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 1402
Location: Munich, Germany

                    
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2023 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi eengert,

Of course, flashing a JP1 remote for just sending some signals "one time" and then "dispose it" is a bit ... clunky. Instead, you can use IrScrutinizer, with some hardware that can transmit the signal. The itach you linked to in a previous post is fine and works, although slightly on the pricey side. (Or course, you can return it to Amazon after usage...). A cheaper alternative is an Arduino based solution. (You can also assemble something simpler on a breadboard if you like that better. Just one IR LED and the resistor will suffice for this.) In IrScrutinizer, you just fill in the protocol and parameters on the render page, on the hardware page you enter the number of time to send the signal and press "transmit rendered". You can also generate the n-times repeat as pronto hex by exporting using the export format "Pronto Hex Oneshot". If you are not afraid of command line programs, it can be done with irptransmogrifier, like
Code:
$ irptransmogrifier render denon-k --name D=4,S=1,F=368 --pronto --count 3
0000 0070 0096 0000 0080 0040 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010
0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010
0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010
0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010
0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010
0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030
0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0ACD 0080
0040 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030
0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010
0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010
0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010
0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030
0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010
0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0ACD 0080 0040 0010 0010 0010 0010
0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010
0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010
0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010
0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010
0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010
0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030
0010 0010 0010 0ACD

If you want more detailed instructions, just ask.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
eengert



Joined: 15 Jan 2023
Posts: 23

                    
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2023 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Barf wrote:
Hi eengert,

Of course, flashing a JP1 remote for just sending some signals "one time" and then "dispose it" is a bit ... clunky.


Thanks for all the good info. I'll look into the various options. At this point, I've already ordered a JP1 remote and cable, and I'd like to try it. Although I don't plan to use the remote to control my devices, I'm sure this won't be the last time I'll need it to add some custom commands and teach them to my Harmony. So if anyone would be willing to share the best steps I can take to get those codes added to the JP1 remote, I'd appreciate it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4500

                    
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2023 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to wait until you get the remote before you import the signals because you need to start with what's already in the remote or you could end up with something that doesn't work.

I'll post the exact steps a bit later as I don't have access to RMIR at the moment. Do give our wiki a read first and/or watch some of the youtube videos linked there. From memory, I'd say download from the remote first, then go to the learned tab, click new, then paste in your pronto hex. Repeat for each key. Then upload to the remote and test.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/wiki/index.php/JP1_-_Just_How_Easy_Is_It%3F#How_Do_You_Create_An_Upgrade_From_Scratch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eengert



Joined: 15 Jan 2023
Posts: 23

                    
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2023 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
You need to wait until you get the remote before you import the signals because you need to start with what's already in the remote or you could end up with something that doesn't work.

I'll post the exact steps a bit later as I don't have access to RMIR at the moment. Do give our wiki a read first and/or watch some of the youtube videos linked there. From memory, I'd say download from the remote first, then go to the learned tab, click new, then paste in your pronto hex. Repeat for each key. Then upload to the remote and test.
http://www.hifi-remote.com/wiki/index.php/JP1_-_Just_How_Easy_Is_It%3F#How_Do_You_Create_An_Upgrade_From_Scratch


Thanks. I've been trying to read through the wiki and was wondering about the step to download from the remote first. Does that mean I need to program a Denon device code into the remote first, then download that into RMIR so I can add the new commands?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4500

                    
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2023 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Learns (pronto hex) are unrelated to other codes, so it doesn't matter if you load a Denon upgrade or not. But the upgrade will give you a ton of functions. My Denon upgrades have every possible command (over 300) which will probably work with your model as well. Just search keyword "denon", user "mdavej" in the file secton.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21210
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2023 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eengert wrote:
I'm waiting for the remote and cable to be delivered, but I have RMIR running on my Mac. Could someone tell me the steps I need to follow? I don't want to actually use the JP1 remote to operate my equipment, I just want to use it to teach my Harmony a few IR commands that aren't in the database for my Denon AVR-X3700H. So what's the quickest way of getting the Pronto Hex codes Rob shared into the JP1 remote?

Thanks again for all your help!

I think should explain what I did to generate those Pronto codes. You had stated that the volume buttons increase by 0.5db at a time and you wanted them to increase by 1.0db instead. So what I did was, I took the raw code for the volume buttons and edited it so that when it repeats, it always sends 2 copies of the signal, rather than 1, thus doubling the 0.5db to 1.0db. The idea was that if you were to load the new hex code directly into your Harmony, I think it would do what you want. However, if you load it into a JP1 remote and then teach it to the Harmony, I don't know if that will carry over.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
eengert



Joined: 15 Jan 2023
Posts: 23

                    
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2023 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
I think should explain what I did to generate those Pronto codes. You had stated that the volume buttons increase by 0.5db at a time and you wanted them to increase by 1.0db instead. So what I did was, I took the raw code for the volume buttons and edited it so that when it repeats, it always sends 2 copies of the signal, rather than 1, thus doubling the 0.5db to 1.0db. The idea was that if you were to load the new hex code directly into your Harmony, I think it would do what you want. However, if you load it into a JP1 remote and then teach it to the Harmony, I don't know if that will carry over.


I see. Well, I'll give it a try and see what happens. Even if it works, it may not be quite what I was hoping for. Either way, I appreciate your effort.

Even if the volume commands don't work out, maybe I can still get some value out of some of these purchases. I would also like to add the Speaker Preset Toggle, Speaker Preset 1, and Speaker Preset 2 commands from page 15 of this document.

I believe they are listed in Kaseikyo format. I'm assuming these codes won't be in mdavej's Denon upgrade file because I don't think those functions existed on Denon AVRs back when he created that file. Could anyone help me with how to get those three commands added to a JP1 remote using RMIR?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21210
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2023 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have converted that table into an Excel file and added an OBC column, here:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=26669

If you wanted to add those 3 functions to Dave's RM file, here are their OBCs:

891 Speaker Preset (Toggle)
892 Speaker Preset 1
893 Speaker Preset 2
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
eengert



Joined: 15 Jan 2023
Posts: 23

                    
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2023 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
I have converted that table into an Excel file and added an OBC column, here:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=26669

If you wanted to add those 3 functions to Dave's RM file, here are their OBCs:

891 Speaker Preset (Toggle)
892 Speaker Preset 1
893 Speaker Preset 2


You guys are awesome on this forum! Thanks for all the help.

The iTach device arrives tomorrow, so I'll get to test that out first. URC3680 arrives Saturday, but the cable will probably be a week or so later. I'll report back, although I'll probably have more questions. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eengert



Joined: 15 Jan 2023
Posts: 23

                    
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2023 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The JP1 cable arrived today. Armed with all of the information this forum has provided, I was able to fairly easily connect my new URC-3680 to my Macbook, open Remote Master, download from the remote, import Dave's upgrade file, add the Speaker Preset commands Rob provided the OBC codes for, upload to the remote and then successfully teach those new commands to my Harmony.

I haven't had much success with the volume up/down 1db commands so far. I haven't figured out a good way to get them into the URC-3680 to even test them. I'm not exactly sure what to do with the pronto hex codes Rob provided. I tried using irScrutinizer to convert them, but it just converts to the standard volume commands (which only cause a 0.5db change). I realize that this probably won't facilitate my ultimate goal of adding a command to my Harmony remote which will change volume on my Denon in 1db increments. But I'd still like to fiddle around a bit more and see what I can accomplish with JP1. So any further suggestions would be welcome.

Thanks for all the help so far!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4500

                    
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2023 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In RMIR, go to the Learned tab, click new, select a device and button to assign the function to, select Pronto and paste one of Rob's codes into the box (starting with 0000). Repeat for the others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eengert



Joined: 15 Jan 2023
Posts: 23

                    
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2023 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
In RMIR, go to the Learned tab, click new, select a device and button to assign the function to, select Pronto and paste one of Rob's codes into the box (starting with 0000). Repeat for the others.


Thanks, I was able to follow those steps to test. Unfortunately, it still only changes volume by 0.5db.

If anyone has any other options to try, I'm up for it. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4500

                    
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2023 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My option is to either hold the button down or press is multiple times. Or make macros with multiple button presses like I said earlier in the thread*. Or use the built in presets (also in my file already):
RCSHP0C20003 110000 MASTER VOL. PRESET1(0dB)
RCSHP0C20005 101000 MASTER VOL. PRESET2(-20dB)
RCSHP0C20006 011000 MASTER VOL. PRESET3(-40dB)

Do you have any sort of physical limitations that make it impractical to press the button several times quickly?

* A macro on Harmony is called a Sequence
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eengert



Joined: 15 Jan 2023
Posts: 23

                    
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2023 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
My option is to either hold the button down or press is multiple times. Or make macros with multiple button presses like I said earlier in the thread*. Or use the built in presets (also in my file already):
RCSHP0C20003 110000 MASTER VOL. PRESET1(0dB)
RCSHP0C20005 101000 MASTER VOL. PRESET2(-20dB)
RCSHP0C20006 011000 MASTER VOL. PRESET3(-40dB)

Do you have any sort of physical limitations that make it impractical to press the button several times quickly?

* A macro on Harmony is called a Sequence


No physical limitations. Just a bit of perfectionism. With my setup and usage, I sometimes need to change the volume by up to 10-15db. That's 20-30 button presses, or press-and-hold then a few presses to adjust. I don't enjoy that process, so it's a mild annoyance. And I like to tinker and find ways to automate and improve usability - especially for the WAF.

I'm aware of Harmony macros and tried that route, but it's way too cumbersome in practice. It takes too long for the Harmony to send multiple commands when a macro is executed, and doesn't accept additional button presses while a macro is active. So I ruled that out after trying it. For me, macros are good for infrequent actions.

I've considered trying to use the three master volume presets, but that also doesn't get me close enough to how I'd like to control the volume.

My current solution is to use the Denon binding in OpenHAB home automation server running on an old iMac. I've coded a script that responds to volume changes on the Denon AVR and uses logic to increase/decrease the volume by 2.0db (I could code it for whatever value I choose, but only a single value, so I settled on 2db as a nice compromise to having separate 1db and 5db commands). When this is working, it's perfect. But it depends on network connectivity (which occasionally has a hiccup and the 2db volume script doesn't fire) and forces me to maintain a home automation server. So if I could find an IR solution to incorporate into my trusty Harmony Hub, that would be more reliable.

The correct solution (IMO) would be for AVR manufacturers to provide a setting where you could choose the volume increment. I was fortunate with my previous AVR (Onkyo) to be able to find codes on the internet for 1db and 5db increments that worked perfectly in my Harmony. So far, the same doesn't seem to exist for Denon AVRs. Certainly nothing more than a mild annoyance, but I want to exhaust every possibility before giving up. And, like I said, I enjoy the tinkering with tech gear. This pursuit has forced me to learn about and stand up my first home automation server and now learn about JP1 remote programming, so that's a bonus! And even if I don't get any farther with the search for volume commands, I now no longer need to rely on Harmony support to add codes for me as I add/replace devices that may be missing special commands. So I really appreciate all the help on this forum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21210
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2023 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eengert wrote:
mdavej wrote:
In RMIR, go to the Learned tab, click new, select a device and button to assign the function to, select Pronto and paste one of Rob's codes into the box (starting with 0000). Repeat for the others.


Thanks, I was able to follow those steps to test. Unfortunately, it still only changes volume by 0.5db.

If anyone has any other options to try, I'm up for it. Thanks.

If you get a basic understanding of the Pronto hex format, you could try editing the codes that I posted yourself. As I described before, all I did (if it worked) was to force 2 repeats each time, but I can't change the device itself to increment by 1db rather than 0.5db. I had hoped that sending 2 repeats would send 2 instances of 0.5db, giving you 1db. You could experiment to see if 3 repeats (or any other number) hits the sweet spot.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Discrete Codes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Top 7 Advantages of Playing Online Slots The Evolution of Remote Control