JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Help w/ creating a device upgrade for learned signals.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sandlotje



Joined: 16 Jul 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 2021 7:11 pm    Post subject: Help w/ creating a device upgrade for learned signals. Reply with quote

I have a space heater (built into my TV stand), and I taught my URC-7880 the IR signals from the OEM remote for the heater (under AUD).

I'm using the tutorial about creating custom device upgrades, but it looks like I need to identify the protocol and maybe some other information first, before it can be generated.

Here's a link to the screenshot... https://imgur.com/JQWsA6E
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sandlotje



Joined: 16 Jul 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 2021 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As you can see, the power key has no information regarding the protocol, and when creating a device upgrade in RMIR, F12 is not available as a protocol.

I'm also noticing that there are too many buttons, so I'm going to redo the teaching process to verify the learned signals. I wonder if that is part of my problem...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 20235
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 2021 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

An actual RMIR file is more more useful than a screenshot of RMIR.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sandlotje



Joined: 16 Jul 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 2021 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
An actual RMIR file is more more useful than a screenshot of RMIR.


I'm looking all over for how to upload a file, but I cannot figure it out. I'm sure the answer is right in front of me somewhere....

Edit: Ah-ha! Got it. Here's a link for the file. http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=26296
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 20235
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 2021 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can see the format of the signals that you learned, and if you had a remote with a Samsung processor I could build you an upgrade for it, but your remote has a TI2541 processor and I don't know how to build those.

Here's the info for any expert that can build TI2541 executors:

Freq = 38k
1 = +1200 -400
0 = +400 -1200
LO: +400 -8000

11011 000000 - ch+
11011 000001 - vol+
11011 000010 - power
11011 001000 - ch-
11011 010000 - vol-

I suggest building this as an MSB-COMP protocol, in which case the device code would be 27 and the OBCs would be:

00 ch+
01 vol+
02 power
08 ch-
16 vol-

I would be curious to know if OBCs 4 and 32 do anything.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3303

PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 2021 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have much time, so I didn't test this or to make a protocols.ini entry. It's a very simple executor, so I'm reasonable confident it will shoot the desired signal. It is MSB-COMP; if you want to make it non-comp, change the last two bytes from B0 F1 to 30 71.
Code:
01 06 01 21 11 0A 30 00 10 00 10 00 30 00 32 01 00 00 42 14 02 B0 F1
Output from JP2Executor
Code:
Modulation On/Off: 8.73uS/17.47uS; Total: 26.20uS; Frequency: 38.17 KHz
Number of Fixed/Variable Bytes: 1/1

TD_00-TD_03   30 00 10 00               Data1  On/Off: 1258uS/419uS   
TD_04-TD_07   10 00 30 00               Data0  On/Off: 419uS/1258uS   
TD_08-TD_09   32 01                     LO        Off: 8017uS 

Protocol  Timing Bytes: 10
Signal Block
    PF0: 42 [4..0]: 3 PF bytes
    PF1: 14 [7..6]: No Lead-in;  [4]: Repeat at least 0 times;  [2]: On burst before LO; 
    PF2: 02 [7..5]: Executor Flow: Terminate execution;  [4..0]:  2 TX bytes in first signal spec
Signal Spec     DCbytesIdx/NumTXBits: 0/~4, 1/~8

or enter the executor into RMPB to see similar info.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barf
Expert


Joined: 24 Oct 2008
Posts: 1226

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2021 4:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To me, these look like badly learned F12 signals. So before bringing out the executor building machinery, I would try using the decoded F12 signals.

Sandlotje wrote:
... F12 is not available as a protocol.


It is. 00 1A.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3758
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2021 8:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Sandlotje

I see that the .rmir file you posted has 5 upgrades for the F12 protocol that you must have constructed using the "Convert to Device Upgrade" button on the Learned Signals tab. The Cable/2003 upgrade has three signals on it, on the Vol+, Vol- and Ch+ buttons. The other upgrades have one or two of these signals.

It looks as if you did not know what to do after creating the upgrade. You need to assign it to a device button in order to be able to use it. You use the General tab to do this, but as you have assigned the signals to Volume and Channel buttons you also need to turn off the punchthrough settings for those buttons. To save you having to discover how to do all this, I have posted a modified version of your setup in which Cable/2003 is assigned to the DVD device, as you were not using that device. Your original learned signals are still on the AUD device.

If you load this setup into your remote and select DVD, the Vol+, Vol- and Ch- will send the F12 signals converted from your learns. Please let us know if these work. If they don't work, it may mean that the F12 protocol is not the correct one, or something else may be wrong that will need further investigation.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 20235
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2021 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It does look like F12. Reformatting the data to fit the F12 rues, we would have:

Freq = 37.9k
1 = +1266 -422
0 = +422 -1266
LO: -6734

Dev HAB Function
110 110 000000 - ch+
110 110 000010 - vol+
110 110 000100 - power
110 110 010000 - ch-
110 110 100000 - vol-

However, the rules supposedly say "Exactly one of H, A, or B can have a value of 1. " but my data shows that both H and A are 1.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!


Last edited by The Robman on Sun Apr 04, 2021 11:48 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3FG
Expert


Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 3303

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2021 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lots of equipment use IR signals which are similar to F12, but which don't meet the original specification. However, the 001A executor closely follows the spec. So I believe that this set of signals cannot be sent by 001A; the lead out durations, the H value, and the repeat structure are different. Note that the decode shown by RMIR is F12 "relaxed version".

Still the 001A executor may work. I suspect that some equipment ignores the H bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 20235
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2021 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just took a look at the S3C8 version of the executor to see what it does, and it appears that it continuously flips the H bit, and sends a long pause after every 2nd flip.

Here's my decode of it:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=26298
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3758
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2021 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Sandlotje

You may not have realized it, but you have found a bug in RMIR Embarassed . I am pretty sure that you tried "Convert to Device Upgrade" on learned signals that were assigned to shifted buttons and found that nothing happened. This was due to a bug. If the signal selection included any that were on shifted buttons, the conversion process crashed. I have fixed this in RMIR v2.12.15 which I have released today. I am sorry for any problems this may have caused you.

I did post a file here for you to test that assigned one of your successful conversions to the DVD device. It would be nice to know if you have tried this and if so, whether or not it worked. We would still like to help you to get your upgrade working and this test is a good first step.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central