JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Key's that "must" have codes?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
StefanR



Joined: 07 Feb 2021
Posts: 23
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2021 6:04 am    Post subject: Key's that "must" have codes? Reply with quote

Hello,

i'm confused. I creted a devce to control my light switches, for example i used the "vol+" to make light brighter, the "vol-" for darker and assigned this to the device "S.BAR".

But what confusing me, the "mute" key is used too, it sends something when i press on it.

In my device i havn't assigned that key. But when i get the config back from the remote it has "00" as code.

If i remember right i have seen something similar. I used a number key for testing and after that the remaining number key's are sending something too. After reading the config, all unused remaining number key's had "00" as code.

It looks to me that here are groups of key's. When i use vol+ and vol- the mute must be used too. When i use one number key, toe other numbers must be used too...

Normal i would say, that is unimportant, but the mute key sends the code to start the programming mode of the IR receiver, that's bad.

I solved this now by doing a "Key Move" from a unused key to the the mute key to overwrite the mute with nothing. Now the mute key has no function.

Do i'm right with my estimation? And is here a better solution, or is my o.k.?

Kind regards
Stefan
_________________
Remote: One For All - Smart Control 8 - URC 7880
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3693
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2021 7:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are three groups of keys for which either all or none of them get codes set. If only some in a group have codes assigned then the other keys of that group get a default code. This is a feature of the way UEI remotes operate and is not something that RMIR can change. The groups are (a) the ten digit keys, (b) Vol+, Vol- and Mute, and (c) Ch+ and Ch-. If the default causes you problems then you need to assign that key explicitly to a code that has no effect for your equipment, or as you have done, use a key move to achieve the same thing.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StefanR



Joined: 07 Feb 2021
Posts: 23
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2021 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect, thank you for that clarification.

So i have understand that correct and made a optimal solution. Very Happy

Btw., is there a way to give you a donation for your work?
_________________
Remote: One For All - Smart Control 8 - URC 7880
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 3693
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2021 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

StefanR wrote:
Btw., is there a way to give you a donation for your work?

No, we don't accept donations on this site. Knowing that we help and that this help is appreciated is its own reward. We like it when users, like you, show their appreciation by letting us know we have helped, so thank you for your comments.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 20133
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2021 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rather than use a keymove to fix it, I would recommend programming the MUTE button as part of the upgrade, that way you don't waste keymove memory. If I ever create an upgrade for a device that has volume buttons but doesn't have a MUTE button, I just repeat the VOL- function there.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central