JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Combine Remotes into a single .bin for Slingplayer

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kainanmaki



Joined: 13 May 2020
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2020 1:03 pm    Post subject: Combine Remotes into a single .bin for Slingplayer Reply with quote

Hi all. I'm new to remote modding, so I'm still understanding/reading how it all works. I want to do the following:

I have a Cloner Alliance HDML-Cloner Box Pro and a DirecTV receiver (LH24).
I'm using the DirecTV receiver thru a Slingbox 500 (working perfectly).

My goal is to upload a custom .bin to the Slinbox, in order to operate both the DirecTV receiver and the Cloner Box, so I can capture video without sacrificing the ability of controlling DirecTV at the same time.

1)Is it possible to combine both remotes into one? (reading from other posts seems possible)

2)The .bin for the Cloner Box is already here (forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25606). Can I merge it with a .bin intended for DirecTV? I read in other posts that you can use a combination of buttons from both remotes in a single remote or have 2 subremotes, where you define two buttons for each subremote so you can use both remotes in full.

I'm not familiar with the terms like upgrades and extenders (I've started reading a bit though), so any recommendations on how to implement this idea are appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3481
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2020 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Afraid it can't be done at the normal level, a BIN file can contain only one set of device codes. However, there may be someone here who can produce a new extender from scratch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kainanmaki



Joined: 13 May 2020
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Alan! There's any guide/wiki to what an extender is?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3481
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Somewhere but I don't know where. It's about 3 levels above my technical expertise Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kainanmaki



Joined: 13 May 2020
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hehe we're probably at the same boat...guess I'll have to keep searching! Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19506
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

An "extender" is a piece of software that you can load into certain remote controls to extend what they are capable of doing, there are no extenders written for the various Slingboxes, so it's probably not relevant to the current discussion.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kainanmaki



Joined: 13 May 2020
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2020 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the clarification Robman. So essentially I'm limited to a single remote per Slibgbox, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3481
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2020 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Technically yes, but there is a very clunky workaround. Remember the Slingbox has 3 inputs, so you can actually load 3 different BIN files. So, assuming you have loaded the Cloner BIN file on the component input you could load the TV BIN file onto the composite input. So if you were watching the Cloner on the Slingplayer using the component input and you needed to change something on the TV, you could switch inputs and use the composite input.

Which begs the question, if you are watching the Cloner box from a remote location why would you want to operate the TV ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central