JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

RCRP05BR CBL button flashing

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
CBMC



Joined: 07 Apr 2010
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2019 1:06 am    Post subject: RCRP05BR CBL button flashing Reply with quote

Remote was working fine. Connected to remote master and uploaded to remote. At this point after removing from the cable the CBL button starts flashing intermittently. I am able to upload and download from the remote. I have tried going to new remote image and selecting my remote to no avail. I am at a loss. I have also changed batteries, held down 2 while putting in batteries and just jammed on the buttons. I have tried a 981 reset (can't really do because the cbl button keeps flashing) . If I jam on the power button while the CBL button is flashing, it will power on/off my device. I can't switch sources though. Sometimes I can get other source buttons to light up but the remote doesn't /respond or it goes back to the flashing cbl button. Any help would be appreciated.

Ps. Does rca do exchanges on this still? I know it has a lifetime warranty? Doubt they still stock them, but who knows.

Raw Download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1cesmeBgOCWZxaMBleiuvcAjlDVgtxOiA/view?usp=sharing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3999

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2019 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please post your file in our diagnosis section. I can't access your share from behind my firewall.

Flashing usually means low batteries. Were your replacement batteries new?

You can also try loading this clean image:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25640

Technically, you voided the warranty the moment you connected a JP1 cable (falls under "alterations" exclusion in the warranty). But if you want to pursue the replacement option, see the document below. My guess is shipping charges won't be much less than just getting a replacement on ebay (~$10).

https://sc.voxxintl.com/docs/common/RCRP05B/RCRP05B_WC.pdf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CBMC



Joined: 07 Apr 2010
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2019 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry about the link. I have tried several sets of new alkaline batteries and am getting the same thing. The cbl button doesn't always flash consistently, it will flash in no particular pattern. If I hold down buttons and insert one battery sometimes the other device buttons will light up and stay lit. Eventually it will either go completely dead or the cbl button will begin to blink again.

Here is the raw download: http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25641
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3999

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2019 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you try the clean image I posted?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CBMC



Joined: 07 Apr 2010
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2019 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
Did you try the clean image I posted?


Yes. Unfortunately, still doing the same thing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3999

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2019 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm out of ideas then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
welash



Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2019 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same remote that just started showing the same symptoms. I had recently programmed it, and was testing out a new cable. I think I might have put the cable in upside down first (it is a FTDI hack) on the first try, and when the remote wasn't detected, I put it in the right way, and was able to download from it.

After pulling the cable out, the remote was in the state described. I've tried loading the fresh factory image, the image I use on other rcrp05bs that I use for the same setup (I've got one for me, one for the wife, and one that floats around to the kitchen.).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ckeays



Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 83
Location: Toronto, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2019 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try this one:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25740
it is an image of my RCRP05BR when it was brand new, never installed any extenders or learned signals.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central