JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

URC-62440 Bell Fibe ipTV Remote
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - New Remotes & RDFs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21211
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Building an RDF is quite tricky, especially as the remotes themselves have changed so much over the years. These newer remotes have a concept called "segments" which the old ones didn't have.

Anyway, if you'd like to go DIY on this, download the RDF that I created and open it using a text editor like Notepad. The section we're working on right now is the [Buttons] section. I have already programmed in the buttons that you captured in your first tests. Basically, program some macros, like I described earlier, then download the remote's memory. You should see entries in the Macros section which tell you the code of the button holding the macro, and the buttons in the macro. Given that you know what those buttons really are, you can then add them to the list, like I did below. You'll notice that the entry for the numeric buttons is a little different, that's because it's using a trick where, if you don't supply a button code, it assumes it's the previous button code "plus 1". See if you can get the codes for all the buttons.

[Buttons]
TV=$04:groupDevice, DVD, Audio, STB,
"vol up":Vol+=$1F
"vol down":Vol-=$20,
display:Info=$1B,
Menu=$12,
"down arrow":Down=$15,
select:OK=$18,
1=$25,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ckeays



Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 126
Location: Toronto, Ontario

                    
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2019 4:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good Morning Rob,

Here are the files you requested:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25692

I will wait to see what you have done and then study the RDF file. I can't brick this remote (it belongs to my aunt!)

I was hoping to find a detailed explanation of every entry in the RDF file.
I hate to be a bother if my questions seem ridiculous at times.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HamburgerHelper1



Joined: 22 Feb 2014
Posts: 567

                    
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2019 9:29 am    Post subject: URC-62440 Bell Fibe ipTV Remote Reply with quote

Inside the RemeteMaster Folder is a folder called Docs
check out the RDF4Spec_r004.pdf for the RDF Specs you are looking for.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ckeays



Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 126
Location: Toronto, Ontario

                    
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2019 11:08 am    Post subject: Re: URC-62440 Bell Fibe ipTV Remote Reply with quote

HamburgerHelper1 wrote:
Inside the RemeteMaster Folder is a folder called Docs
check out the RDF4Spec_r004.pdf for the RDF Specs you are looking for.


perfect, thanks!

I am starting to understand it, but there are a lot of questions.
For now I have a lot of reading to do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathdon
Expert


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 4515
Location: Cambridge, UK

                    
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2019 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RDF4Spec_r004.pdf doesn't include the additions to RDF spec needed to support remotes with segments, such as this one. Those additions are in RDF4Spec_Addendum_rev12.pdf, also in the Docs folder. That one is updated from time to time, so there will be a rev13 to include the new additions I have needed for your URC-2125BC0.
_________________
Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21211
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2019 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have updated the RDF with all the button codes:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25690
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21211
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2019 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just added an image and map to the RDF file.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21211
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2019 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've done some more work on the RDF, I have hopefully fixed the button maps and I've fixed a bug in the image map.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ckeays



Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 126
Location: Toronto, Ontario

                    
PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2019 3:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Rob,
I tested the new RDF. I am still having difficulty with the buttons I mentioned earlier. This is only in TV mode.

up arrow outputs command from menu button
down arrow outputs audio command
left arrow outputs command from UP arrow
right arrow outputs command from down arrow
OK button outputs command from left arrow button

I have looked at the RDF and I have a few questions:

In the [Buttons] section, These entries have me a bit confused.

Code:
Menu=$12,
RecordedTV=$13,
"Up Arrow":Up=$14:group5,
"Down Arrow":Down=$15:group5,
"Left Arrow":Left=$16:group5,
"Right Arrow":Right=$17:group5,
select:OK=$18:group5,


What does the hex value $12 (for example) indicate? Is that the button address? Or does this value refer to the 18th position in the index here (which would be $08), if so what does the value $08 indicate?
Code:
2 = ($2E, $25, $26, $27, $28, $29, $2A, $2B, $2C, $2D), ($1F, $20, $21), ($22, $23),
     $01, $03, $08, $09, $0A, $0B, $0C, $0D, $0E, $0F, $11, $12, $13, $14, $15, $16,
     $17, $18, $19, $1A, $1B, $1C, $1D, $1E, $24, $30, $33, $04, $05, $06, $07


I see the changes you made to the [DeviceTypes] section. The errors mentioned above still exist even with these changes. I can't seem to figure out what order the devices should be in. I assume the STB is device 0.

I noticed a small error in the layout (image). The circle that is supposed to be around the FWD button is beside the GO Interactive button, where no button exists. Before this circle was missing on the FWD button. If I click on the circle, the button name is Phantom2.

I checked the RDF4Spec_r004.pdf and I can't seem to find these answers there.

As always your work is greatly appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HamburgerHelper1



Joined: 22 Feb 2014
Posts: 567

                    
PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2019 7:07 am    Post subject: URC-62440 Bell Fibe ipTV Remote Reply with quote

Make sure to read RDF4Spec_Addendum_rev12.pdf too
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21211
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2019 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know what the correct way to determine which button map goes with each device mode, so I had to make some educated guesses. I will try to use your list of bad buttons to see if I can reverse engineer which map is correct for TV. Do I assume you tried the other 3 modes and they all work fine?

The $ numbers are hex codes. When I loaded the .ir files that you created with macros in them, into RMIR, the macros showed up with entries like button_23 where 23 would be the button code in hex, so if you stated that was the MENU button, I would add an entry like Menu=$23 in the button list. You didn't capture the SETUP and 0 buttons in the macros, but I was able to guess the codes for those.

I did notice that there are 2 button codes in the maps that are not on the physical remote, so I called these Phantom1 and Phantom2, and I placed them either side of the GO button in the image.

But you are correct that the FWD button was missing, that is because I mislabeled it was FFWD in the RDF, if you delete the extra F in the button list, that will fix it...

"next track":FWD=$0E,
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21211
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2019 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To fix TV mode, I think if you change the map from 2 to 1 that will fix it

[DeviceTypes]
STB = 0,0
TV = 1,1
DVD = 2,2
Audio = 1,3

I have updated the RDF.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ckeays



Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Posts: 126
Location: Toronto, Ontario

                    
PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Again Rob,

I spent hours this morning programming all four devices.

I then went through every single key and discovered that not only the 5 TV buttons were wrong but there were errors in the other three devices.

HOWEVER, your last fix worked for the TV mode!! NO errors on buttons in TV mode!

The other problems still exist on DVD, AUX, and STB devices. They are:

1. Rewind sends the record cmd
2. FF sends the rewind cmd
3. Record sends the FF cmd

It must be difficult for you to figure this out without a remote.
I really appreciate your effort!

If there is anything I can do to make it easier, (like make up some more macros or something) please let me know.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21211
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2019 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ckeays wrote:
your last fix worked for the TV mode!! NO errors on buttons in TV mode!

The other problems still exist on DVD, AUX, and STB devices. They are:

1. Rewind sends the record cmd
2. FF sends the rewind cmd
3. Record sends the FF cmd

It would make sense if the errors were different in each mode, but the fact that it's just these 3 buttons and the problem is the same in each mode, leads me to think that it's not the maps but maybe instead I have the wrong button codes, but if that were true, you'd see this issue in TV mode too.

Could you do me a favor and try creating a macro with just these 3 buttons in it, paying close attention to which order you programmed them in, and see if they show up in RMIR in the right order.

Also, we need to determine if this remote supports keymoves (ie, the 994 command), do you know what that is and how to test for it?

If it does support keymoves, see if it supports shifted keys.

If the macro shows up in the wrong order, in the RDF, try changing the button codes as follows:

from
Record=$08,
Rewind=$09,
"Fast fwd":FF=$0F,

to
Record=$0F,
Rewind=$08,
"Fast fwd":FF=$09,

Then re-test the macro, and upgrades (in TV mode too).
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 21211
Location: Chicago, IL

                    
PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2019 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Scratch that, no need to make that macro, I went back to the original macro files and I apparently did make a transcription error getting the codes, so I have fixed it and confirmed that it looks good.

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=25690

I have programmed the RDF to support keymoves unless you find that the remote does not support them. Let me know if you know what they are and how to test them, if not I'll write something up.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - New Remotes & RDFs All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Top 7 Advantages of Playing Online Slots The Evolution of Remote Control