JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Curious about urc 2025B1 support

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jurgyman



Joined: 24 May 2006
Posts: 40
Location: Madison, WI

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 2:00 pm    Post subject: Curious about urc 2025B1 support Reply with quote

I was using JP1 legacy many years ago... and still use an extended urc 8017 today.... though its starting to have sticky buttons and general age issues.

I've acquired a URC 2025B1-BB. Its used by a local TV provider. They have the TV functions (channels, navigate, etc) locked to their STB Device button.

I am wondering if its supported by JP1.X ? I see hints that it's a jp1.4 device? via the single row of pins at the bottom of the remote.

Is there a way to make it fully programmable, maybe via extensions, but I want the TV button to control a TV as normal... etc, etc.

Thanks in advance - so happy to find the site is still active.
JurgyMan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19077
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We do support it, as long as you can make yourself a special connector.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4005

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, this is one of a handful of models that has a funky 1 row by 5 pin female JP1 interface that needs a cable with a row of 5 male pins (1 2 3 4 6, but 1 is not connected). You can either make your own that plugs in directly, or make an adapter that connects to a standard 2x3 female JP1 connector (instructions HERE).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jurgyman



Joined: 24 May 2006
Posts: 40
Location: Madison, WI

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 4:29 pm    Post subject: serial jp1? Reply with quote

When I said Legacy, I meant I have the original serial jp1 cable. Can I use this cable with the 2x3 to 1x5 adapter...

Or, do I need to get a usb-based 1.3/1.4 cable to use with the 2x3 to 1x5 ?

If yes to usb, whom on fleabay/other is selling a compatible one...

TIA, Jurgyman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 19077
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, you can't use a legacy JP1 cable with a JP1.x/JP2 remote. What most of us do with JP1.x remotes is get an FTDI cable from ebay as they're usually under $10. The only problem is that these cables come with individual connectors, rather than the traditional 2*3 plug.

The following thread details how to use one of these cables:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=16360

We used to buy them from a seller called chip_partner but he's not selling them at the moment.

The following cable has been proven to work:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/312234679584

This cable looks like it would also work, and it's cheaper. I've ordered one to verify it, but it hasn't arrived yet.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/362674416441

There are many FTDI cables on ebay that will NOT work because they don't have the RTS line exposed. Typically, if a cable only has 4 connectors it won't work, the ones that we're using have 6 connectors even though we only use 4 of them.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jurgyman



Joined: 24 May 2006
Posts: 40
Location: Madison, WI

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 10:37 am    Post subject: alice1101983 Reply with quote

OK I ordered from alice1101983
that device:

Original 6Pin FTDI FT232RL USB to TTL RS232 Serial Adapter Cable for Arduino

How long it usually take to ship from Taiwan? Last thing I got direct from Taiwan was a mp4 player back in 2000s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4005

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

3 weeks, give or take.

Hope you picked the "independent" option. That will be easier to work with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 748
Location: Des Moines, IA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want unlock the stb device try the following:

1. stb
2. press and hold set for two blinks, release
3. enter 982, it should blink 4 times


Then to unlock the tv ch:

1. stb
2. press and hold set for two blinks, release
3. enter 973
4. press ch down
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jurgyman



Joined: 24 May 2006
Posts: 40
Location: Madison, WI

PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2019 12:00 pm    Post subject: MaskedMan... Reply with quote

thanks for the advice... but the channel buttons (and 0-9, others) are still all locked to the stb device...

So hopefully I can break all those lockdowns when I get my FTDI cable ?

JurgyMan!

MaskedMan wrote:
If you want unlock the stb device try the following:

1. stb
2. press and hold set for two blinks, release
3. enter 982, it should blink 4 times


Then to unlock the tv ch:

1. stb
2. press and hold set for two blinks, release
3. enter 973
4. press ch down
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jurgyman



Joined: 24 May 2006
Posts: 40
Location: Madison, WI

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 1:38 pm    Post subject: FTDI USB Serial Device converter detected Reply with quote

OK I got my FTDI cable.
Its connected as described to, using the 5 pins in a row style.
My Ubuntu Linux dmesg shows it's detected OK
But latest RemMaster208b1 running on Linux doesnt detect the remote...
What interface would this be considered?
Is it hooked up wrong... do the pins number 5..1 ?
TIA Jurgyman



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 4005

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We've seen both ways. Try this method:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=132688#132688
or this:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=132397#132397

Interface type is JP1.X Serial.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central