JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Philips 47PFL7422D LED TV
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bevhoward



Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
due to a limit in your understanding of the tools

That I can agree with! :D
Quote:
from a built in device (if one is present)

Can built in device functions be referenced without occupying a device button? I ask because the OARUSB04G's device buttons are are all populated with other protocols. (I'm not quite ready to install the extender pack at the moment)
Quote:
or from a helper upgrade

I'll start searching that.

Thanks again. Sent you a PM on a different subject.

Beverly


Last edited by bevhoward on Sun Dec 30, 2018 5:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gfb107
Expert


Joined: 03 Aug 2003
Posts: 3401
Location: Cary, NC

PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With RMIR you don't download from the remote, modify, and upload.

You create your initial .rmir file by downloading.

After that, you always open your saved .rmir file, modify, save, and upload.

If you need to examine learned signals, you run 2 instances of RMIR.
One where your opened your saved .rmir file.
The second where you download from your remote.

Then you copy information from the 'download' instance into the 'saved file' instance.
_________________
-- Greg
Original RemoteMaster developer
JP1 How-To's and Software Tools
The #1 Code Search FAQ and it's answer (PLEASE READ FIRST)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bevhoward



Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2018 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks.

After reading, and responding to Robman's post, things fell into place.

Beverly Howard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18826
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2018 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bevhoward wrote:
Can built in device functions be referenced without occupying a device button? I ask because the OARUSB04G's device buttons are are all populated with other protocols. (I'm not quite ready to install the extender pack at the moment)
Quote:
or from a helper upgrade

I'll start searching that.

Absolutely, keymoves don't refer to a device button, they refer to a setup code, which can either be a built-in setup code, or one that you have added via an upgrade. If you happen to know of a built in setup code that works the Samsung36 device, you can build keymoves that use it. If there isn't one, add an upgrade (no need to program any buttons) and then program the keymoves against that.

If this doesn't make much sense, post your current RMIR file and state what the protocol, device codes and OBCs are that you want to program and which buttons (under which device button) you want them programmed and we'll show you how to do it.

Like Greg said, as you build up the programming in your remote, save it as a .RMIR file. This file will retain a whole bunch of information that is not present in the remote itself. Like the RMDU files, for example. All those additional functions that are available will still be there. Don't download from the remote and start using that file as that info will be lost.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bevhoward



Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Absolutely, keymoves don't refer to a device button, they refer to a setup code

That's great information! It opens up a new vista for things that need only a couple of keys such as fan controls.

I'll start working on this and post questions when I get stuck.
Quote:
Don't download from the remote and start using that file

DOH!!! Of course! This came back to me from years past after your last post.

In the short term (I understand that keymoves are the best option) is it possible to copy "learned" keys from an uploaded rmir file to a saved rmir file?

Thanks again... this info made my day,
Beverly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18826
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bevhoward wrote:
In the short term (I understand that keymoves are the best option) is it possible to copy "learned" keys from an uploaded rmir file to a saved rmir file?

Absolutely. Open the RMIR file that has the learned signals in it (or just download from the remote), then ...
1. Go to the Learned tab
2. Click on the learned signal in question
3. Click EDIT
4. Ensure that the UEI Learned data format is selection
5. "Copy" the data (eg, 00 D4 05 08 DA 08 E6 01 09 00 F3 01 09 02 E4 01 09 08 E0 01 09 71 D6 A7 01 11 11 21 11 11 11 11 13 22 21 12 11 22 11 21 22 11 22 40)
6. Now open the good RMIR file and go to the Learned tab
7. Click NEW
8. Click the SHOW ADVANCED DETAILS button in the top right corner (if it says HIDE ADVANCED DETAILS, leave it alone, you're good)
9. Ensure that the UEI Learned data format is selection
10. "Paste" the data (eg, 00 D4 05 08 DA 08 E6 01 09 00 F3 01 09 02 E4 01 09 08 E0 01 09 71 D6 A7 01 11 11 21 11 11 11 11 13 22 21 12 11 22 11 21 22 11 22 40)
11. Select a Device and Key
12. Click OK

Now, the learned signals that you posted earlier used the Samsung36 protocol with a device code of 32 and a sub-device code of 0. The only setup code that I know of that matches is VIDEO/1635 which is in the URC-8305, URC-8308, URC-8350 and URC-7950 remotes. For other remotes you would need a helper upgrade, like this...

01 B5 00 01 04 00 00

(To add this, go to Devices tab, click New, click Import Raw, and past into Upgrade Code box).
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bevhoward



Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect... Thanks... again!

Beverly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Beginners All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central