JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

UPC HORIZON REMOTE
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6953
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
I spotted a few silly errors in there myself, like not moving the computed checksum to the output register.


I thought you did that on purpose, as a teaching exercise. Debugging is the way I learn.

Anyway, I did a spot check on your protocol and you still have a few silly little errors. Cool

I put my KM, RM and pb files here
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=11284
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18403
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup, I see them now. How does the leadout time look, does it need adjusting? Did the checksum come out OK?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6953
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Robman wrote:
Yup, I see them now. How does the leadout time look, does it need adjusting? Did the checksum come out OK?


I used the 119000 leadout time from the decodes, and that looks great. For the keys that I spot checked, the checksum on mine works too. (Your reverse was using the wrong register).

I didn't bother loading up a learning remote with the signal and shooting it at the widget, so there is some staggering due to the differences in the capture devices, but all in all the pictures look great.

You saw that you had the leadout lo indstead of 1-onlow.

All in all this was a wonderful learning exercise for me. I have a new way of thinking about dividing up bytes. I learned how to reverse a byte. I experienced a mid-frame burst.

The more examples I work the more I confident I get. Too bad I can't do the binary checksum stuff. Then I would be totally self-sufficient.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Vyrolan



Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 167
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vickyg2003 wrote:

All in all this was a wonderful learning exercise for me. I have a new way of thinking about dividing up bytes. I learned how to reverse a byte. I experienced a mid-frame burst.

Vicky, I for one would love to see one of your great write-ups about protocol building. I'm like the opposite of you...I can do all the bit-twiddling and recognize the patterns, but I have no clue how to turn that into an working protocol unless it fits the pre-defined patterns of PB. It's a very intriguing area and I've love to learn more!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18403
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, look at this, different skill sets coming together! So cool.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Noirfire



Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 87
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Guys I'll test it out and get back to you on results

...Cheers Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Noirfire



Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 87
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Guys, got some more infomation on this remote sorry it took so long.

Name; UPC Horizon
Model; SMT-G7400
type; Cable
Manufacturer; Samsung

Cheers Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Noirfire



Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 87
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks guys for all your work I've just tested it and it works perfectly!

I appericate all the help!

Cheers Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18403
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the confirmation Phil, I have copied the RMDU file to the cable box section:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=11307
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Testme



Joined: 04 Aug 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 2:11 pm    Post subject: Refresher Reply with quote

Hi all,
I find this forum very interesting.

I'm searching for these Samsung IR remote codes (SMT-G7401) to send them via the Arduino / library IRRemote.
But I'm having trouble understanding these files and file types. I can't seem to find the protocol that is used for sending the codes stored in these files.

I don't expect anyone to be around here who made these codes. But anyone who can tell anything is welcome and greatly appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18403
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We're all still here. I can explain the protocol but I don't know the Arduino format, so you would either need to do that yourself or get help from Barf (who wrote IrScrutinizer).
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Testme



Joined: 04 Aug 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you Rob,

I got in touch with Barf, and he helped me solve the issue.
Thread can be found here: Here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - Protocol Decodes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central