JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

uploaded to remote but devices not present in remote

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Nevo and Xsight Remotes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tls1



Joined: 01 Apr 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:53 am    Post subject: uploaded to remote but devices not present in remote Reply with quote

Hi all,

First timer here. Installed all the software, did the regedit stuff.

I downloaded some RMDU files from the site.
I did an xsight format and rebuild and all went well.
I built my system with a Sony TV and a Motorola VIP box.
I upload to the remote and then unplug and the devices are not present.

However if I add a built in device (from RMDIR) such as Sonly TV (not necessary the same model) (to make a total of 3) and then upload... only the built in device appears.

I guess I am missing a step, but not clue at the moment.

Suggestions/ideas?

Thanks in advance!
Happy holidays!
Terry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3721

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Simply having the files in a folder isn't enough. You have to add them in RMIR as well. This how you add a device to Xsight from an RMDU file:

- If you're starting from scratch, download from remote first to get a baseline
- In RMIR, go to the Devices tab and click New
- On the next window, click Open and browse to the RMDU file you downloaded from the site
- Customize as desired and press OK
- Repeat for adding all other devices
- Save and Upload

I don't know what you mean by adding a built in device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tls1



Joined: 01 Apr 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Thanks for the info... I did all those steps...

From the devices tab I added my 2 devices with the open button to add files which I downloaded from the site.
i uploaded these to the remote and the remote does not show them when I click on the devices button

I added a third device but I picked it from the protocol drop down list (instead of using the open button).
i uploaded all 3 devices to the remote and the remote shows one the protocol item when I click on the devices button.


make sense?

Cheers!
Terry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tls1



Joined: 01 Apr 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 2 devices I downloaded from the site are:

TV: sony kdl-40s4100 tv
cable: Motorola vip 2262/2502

maybe there are step to perform in the app after opening these files but before uploading?

here is the version info from the remote:
firmware 1.2.32
bootloader 1.0.2
ir blaster 3201ax7
ir library 1.2.11


Regards,
Terry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3721

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since I made your tv device file, I'm very familiar with that one.

Did you give the new device(s) a unique name when prompted? Otherwise you'll get the same device named New Device every time.

If you still have problems, upload your RMIR file to the Diagnosis Area and post a link to it.

If all else fails, you can add devices manually on the remote itself. Your TV and cable box are very common codes and are built in.


Last edited by mdavej on Sun Apr 01, 2018 4:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tls1



Joined: 01 Apr 2018
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Ok that worked... ! thanks!

I guess I left it with the default and in the list it was Dev1 and Dev2. These are not editable so I removed them and re-added them and put a good name and uploaded and it worked!

Thanks so much!
Terry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Nevo and Xsight Remotes All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central