JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Sylvania LC370SS8 37" HDTV made by Funai (sic)
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Steevo



Joined: 25 Aug 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The TV doesn't have Guide at all.

Since the ReplayTV remote isn't really a multi device remote, it's not intended to duplicate all the TV functions, and it has no "TV" button.
There's no way to make it control a TV.

I am mostly interested in doing

TV On/Off (a separate button on the Replay 5000)
Volume (not a ReplayTV function)
Mute (not a ReplayTV function)

The rest of the functions are ReplayTV functions.
There's no provision to change channels on any TV with a ReplayTV remote, for instance. I don't want the TV to ever change channels while watching the ReplayTV.

Should I just delete everything except those?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18047
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want to keep the R5k remote working as it's intended, then yes, it only gives you a few basic buttons for TV. However, now that you're a JP1 user, you do have the option of converting the remote into a multi-device remote by installing the "extender". That would let you use shifted numeric buttons (if I remember correctly) as device selection buttons, then you would have full control of your TV and your Replay (and any other devices that you may have)
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Steevo



Joined: 25 Aug 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 10:24 pm    Post subject: Sylvanis (Funai) 37" tv codes for Tivo remote Reply with quote

As I resurrect this zombie thread. Forgive me!

I never got the JP1 working on the Replaytv 5K remote, and I no longer have or use any of those, so no worries.

I still have that Sylvania tv, and I now have it connected to a Tivo Roamio, among other things.

As you recall the Sylvania TV is supposedly NEC1 132.224, Maybe TV 1864.
I tried some of the codes on the Tivo remote for Sylvania, no success.
I understand Sylvania and Emerson were the TVs that might use
NEC1 132.224, TV 1864

The Tivo remote is not JP1, so no worries about that.

What should I try? Is there a remote code for the Tivo remote that might work?

Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 671

PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry but no. If you like TiVo peanut remote, switch to the Tivo Slide remote it can be taught the commands from the Sylvania remote.
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Steevo



Joined: 25 Aug 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was hoping a Emerson or Sylvania code would work, for power and volume. And the Tivo remote might have those.

No?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaskedMan
Tivo Expert


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 671

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps, if your TiVo remote has code 0355 on board it should work. If you don't get three blinks after fourth digit, then the code isn't in your remote. And you would need a newer TiVo remote like slide remote.
_________________
Edmund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18047
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Steevo, do you have any JP1 remotes? If not, would you be interested in a really hi-tech remote, that comes with its own JP1 cable, for just $15 shipped?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/112540756481
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Steevo



Joined: 25 Aug 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a box of JP1 remotes. I don't feel the need for more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18047
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then why don't you just use JP1 to program one of them to work your gear?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Steevo



Joined: 25 Aug 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used to have ReplayTV, but no longer do.

For the Tivo, the Tivo remote is very convenient.
No missing buttons, it all works. I would like to get rid of the remote that came with the tv that I have had to leave the remote laying there all these years because it's the only one I have that can turn it on and off and do the volume.

I just asked if the tivo remote might do the tv, since the JP1 Replay tv remote didn't and I had no luck with my JP1 cable construction. The tivo remote might be later. Possibly. I have to try that 0355 on it. See if it knows that one.

It's just not worth the trouble. I have some Harmony remotes, those would do the job but I find them less convenient than the tivo remote.

Edit: 0355 works on the newer Tivo remote. Perfect! Thanks. I didn't need the slide remote.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Non-JP1 All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central