JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

Req Vulkano Lava compatible bin file for SFR STBP-SGM-R2
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6946
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know absolutely nothing about these boxes so don't pay that close of attention, but it seems to me that you are still using a byName type of search to get an official setup when you should be looking for some kind of CUSTOM option.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3288
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I remember, you put the BIN file in the "C:\Program Files\Monsoon Multimedia\Vulkano\Setup Wizard" or to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Monsoon Multimedia\Vulkano\Setup Wizard" folder. Only then will it appear in the drop down menu. By the sound of it waht you seeing in the dropdown menu matches the BIN files in that folder. It looks as though you have put it somewhere else ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18087
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mrphil1 wrote:
Yes, the wizard has the select by code drop down, but C2010 doesn't appear in the list. The list goes from C0000 to C0525, then skips to C3509. I've gotten these results on a Vulkano Flow and a Lava.

To skip from 0 to 525 then to 3509 are long jumps, it makes it sound like there aren't too many codes of any sort in your box, which doesn't seem likely. Is it possible that you selected something before you got to the code selection part that is limiting the selection, like selecting a brand or model?

Like Vicky said, you should not be trying to select a brand or model of any sort, you should be selecting something like "Other" or "Custom". The operating system should give you an option for cases where you can't find your brand and want to select codes directly, and in that mode, you should be able to select any code, so there should be hundreds of them, not just 3 codes.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
binky123
Expert


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 1203

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The goal is to replace a known BIN file with Alan's so the Setup Wizard sees it and uses it. The Setup Wizard folder has a set of XML files that list what devices it knows about.

Find a file that matches what you see in your list, for example C2004_Axum.bin is in the directory and is actually the only one with 2004 in its name. Rename the original and then rename Alan's BIN file from C2010_Axum.bin to C2004_Axum.bin.

Restart Setup Wizard so it picks up the new version of C2004_Axum.bin.

We can work with LRN files but in this case we already know the IR protocol the device, SFR STBP-SGM-R2, uses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrphil1



Joined: 06 Aug 2017
Posts: 21
Location: USA - Illinois

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've confirmed all the .bin files are in the correct directory. C:Program Files (X86)\Monsoon Multimedia\Vulkano\Setup Wizard\

There are 476 .bin files, of which 48 are PL, 158 Axum, 266 Gondar, 3 PK and 1 RV.

There are 4 drop downs available: Device Category, (ALL, Cable, Satellite/DSS,Digital Video Disk,VCR, and Learned) Manufacturer, Model, and Code. I'm selecting Device Category/ALL, Manufacturer/ALL, selecting 'Code' then selecting the code drop down of which 785 are listed, which is a bit confusing considering the number of .bin files in the directory.

Regarding the list which goes from C0000 to C0525, then skips to C3509, that's not the total number of codes (3), I was making reference to C2010 which should have been in between those, but isn't. Sorry if I wasn't clear.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrphil1



Joined: 06 Aug 2017
Posts: 21
Location: USA - Illinois

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

binkey123...our messages just missed each other's. I'll try your suggestion later today if possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binky123
Expert


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 1203

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may want to narrow down your list by selecting Cable or VCR as the device category type.

The XML files list multiple manufacturers that point to the same BIN file. Thus, you may have 785 listed codes but only 476 BIN files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3288
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

binky123 wrote:
Rename the original and then rename Alan's BIN file from C2010_Axum.bin to C2004_Axum.bin..
I don't know about the Vulkano, but for the Slingbox, renaming a BIN file is a definite no-no, as it actually includes the C2010 inside the file.

Quite happy to recompile it under a different code if that would help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binky123
Expert


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 1203

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are right. The setup code is embedded in the header part right before the upgrade code.

Since mrphil1 has mentioned seeing C2004 in his list, I would suggest rebuilding the BIN with C2004_Axum.bin as the output file. Thanks.

Code:

0000  2F 00 17 DA 00 5A 00 B2 76 E4 00 00 00 00 00 06
0010  E1 20 3E 33 F9 79 B9 39 D9 59 99 19 E9 69 E5 65
0020  07 36 96 7D 56 56 BD 3D DD 5D B6 9D 1D ED 6D 76

2F = LL 47d bytes
00 = prot_offset (none included)
17 DA = 1 pid1 7DA = Cable/2010
00 5A = 2BytePid for NEC protocol

Upgrade Code2 0 = 17 DA (Cable/2010)
00 5A 00 B2 76 E4 00 00 00 00 00 06 E1 20 3E 33
F9 79 B9 39 D9 59 99 19 E9 69 E5 65 07 36 96 7D
56 56 BD 3D DD 5D B6 9D 1D ED 6D 76
End
Selected Remote is Slingbox with Axum BINAxum
Fixed Data 20 3E 33
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alanrichey
Expert


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 3288
Location: UK/USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/dload.php?action=file&file_id=14638
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrphil1



Joined: 06 Aug 2017
Posts: 21
Location: USA - Illinois

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

C2004_Axum.bin is in the Vulkano setup directory, but C2004 is n-o-t in the drop down list of the Vulkano setup application. The list of STB codes which begin with a 'C' in the drop down list goes from C0000 to C0525, skipping numbers in between, then C3509 all the way up to C3739. In other words, the C range is: C0000>C3739..not consecutively numbered.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 18087
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so, rebuild as C0525 perhaps?
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
binky123
Expert


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 1203

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 2:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ran Setup Wizard. Logged in to Vulkano. Clicked on Advanced button.
In Left column, Info entry selected. General Tab
IR Blaster Version: Gondar YX
Driver Version: 1.9.2.6
Setup Wizard: 2.1.1110.1117

In Left column, Video selected. Click on Device/STB tab.
Device: Cable
Manufacturer: ABC
check box Select by Model.
It lists in pulldown menu: JSRCII, V2JRC550, V2SA8500 and it matches what is in Gondar_IR.xml. Axum_IR.xml lists 4 entries. The above 3 and a J450L entry.

Gondar_IR.xml does not have a C2010 entry.

These files are available:
S0447_Gondar.bin. IO-Data HVT-BCTL.
S0892_Gondar.bin. Digicomp TATA Sky.
C3698_Gondar.bin. Sagem ITSD81 HD.

The entries in Gondar_IR.xml that don't have BIN files look like they are using the built-in setup codes. I don't know if they'll take a BIN file if found. Perhaps they will.

S1322 setup code is same as STBP-SGM-R2. Netgem (all models), Neuf TV (all models), Teac ITVD500, TechniSat InterDigital-T.
No S1322_Gondar.bin file available.

So mrphil1, if you can confirm you see the same as I do in the IR Blaster info and the Gondar_IR.xml file, we should probably choose S0447_Gondar.bin as the output filename. Remote type should also be Vulkano with Gondar Chip - 47 keys in order to get the _Gondar output.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrphil1



Joined: 06 Aug 2017
Posts: 21
Location: USA - Illinois

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@binky123

The only difference on my end from your results is:

Flow IR Blaster Version: Gondar2 (Lava Version:Gondar YX)

All other files/content confirmed same as yours.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binky123
Expert


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 1203

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for confirming. I'll try to do some more testing with using a non-existing BIN file and seeing if it reads it and uses it in place of the built-in code. And also replacing an existing BIN file and see if that works.

These steps should also allow us to confirm which BIN file format we should be using.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> Slingbox All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central